Blogging, General ramblings, Technology, YouTube

Download Movies from Youtube

DISCLAIMER: I am not encouraging anybody to download videos! If I gave you that impression, then I think my English sucks. Do so if you want to! (After considering all the legal and ethical hassles!!!!)

I got this little trick from a website that I was browsing. It’s pretty neat:

First install firefox if u dont have it already.

Next : Download a plug-in called ‘VideoDownloader’ from firefox addons.

Go to Youtube —> get to the movie page (that is, where the movie is playing in the flash player)

Stop the flash player.and click on the little button on the right hand corner of the screen. The icon is shaped like two windows.

OR:

Now wait for it to generate the link : it takes 2 seconds.

Next, right click on the link, and click on SAVE AS. (be sure to save the file as (filename).flv
Now you will have a flv file.

To play it, you need FLV player. Download it for Free from here .

if u need to convert it to some other format, use IMTOO encoder.
This can be downloded for free, or can be registered.
That’s it! 🙂

Standard

15 thoughts on “Download Movies from Youtube

  1. Actually, that is a good trick. I have a couple of tricks of my own as well. You will find even more ways to do that sort of thing as you work with it I’m sure.

  2. OMG I downloaded a similar thing from the CNET Download website.I’ll show you a screenshot of me firefox with the addon.

    Screenshot

    It’s called Video Ook?Ook.Funny isn’t it?
    Do you see those play and pause buttons on the right bottom corner?That’s Foxy Tunes.It helps you to control your music player directly from Firefox.

  3. Ish,

    I liked the skin of your browser. Looks nice! thanks for that screenshot. Looks pretty cool I must say. I noticed the play, stop, pause buttons. What’s the name of this software? Btw, does it slow down the browser? I guess it does?

    Sk,

    Nee po da!

  4. Nope,it doesn’t slow down the browser one bit.And I don’t have any special skin,it’s just the usual Firefox skin.

    The software is called “Foxy Tunes”.You can read about it and get it Here

  5. parmanu says:

    does anyone even consider the ‘ethics’ part at all? like what you CAN do vs. what you SHOULD do..!

    oh btw, google video allows downloading for some (or all?) of the videos. May be they will extend that feature in youtube too, so then u dont really have to bother abt ‘tricks’..

    oh and cotton, I know u r not forcing me to do so. No one forces anyone. People just put forth their thoughts…Its the most basic inherent assumption. I dont know what r u trying to prove…

  6. Parmanu,

    “oh and cotton, I know u r not forcing me to do so. No one forces anyone. People just put forth their thoughts…Its the most basic inherent assumption. I dont know what r u trying to prove…”

    I haven’t even put forth my thoughts there! All I have done is provide the blog readers with a method which they may want to use. It’s up to their discretion! Not trying to prove anything either….

    About the ethics part, yes I agree..this is not very ethical! But most of the videos on Youtube-are they ethical??! So the person who has wronged-who uploaded the videos on Youtube- cannot asked for justice. Basic maxim in law.

    Sk,

    “And if you have a Zune (and are lucky enough to find one in the near vicinity) you can also “squirt” the video to your fellow Zunesters. Wow!!”

    Sure…we will be lucky to find Zunes in our vicinity…have you seen their ads in the Walmart catalogs?? SO BIG??!!!Whereas Apple gets almost half a page of ad, Zune gets only 2 inches of space! That’s called “presence”. Zune doesn’t need ads to sell!

    We will be even luckier if we find any “fellow” Zunesters…!!! Sk, are you buying one for everybody?? I could donate a quarter!

  7. Sk,

    Looks like you really liked my post. You went as far as suggesting a rival service! Hmm…looks like we have a new brainbox amongst us. I am indeed lucky to be in your blogroll you know! (Just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate it).

    Downloading it to my video ipod is what got me motivated to do this kind of stuff you know 🙂 Plus, going by the current state of my wireless connection, it’s better if I download everything 🙂 Who knows, Kal Net Ho Na Ho!

  8. parmanu says:

    “…So the person who has wronged-who uploaded the videos on Youtube- cannot asked for justice. Basic maxim in law. …”

    So you are saying you would download ONLY and ONLY those videso which breach the copyright laws of some other company, not the majority of them which are legally posted under the terms and conditions that it MAY NOT be downloaded…

    and I didnt study law, but I do not think that any law says that person who has done wrong cannot ask for justice. He can be punished too but he can surely sue someone else.

    If you steal anyone of the you tube ‘licensed’ content, as mentioned in their ‘terms of use’, thats WRONG..if not ethically, legally. If that content itself was stolen by youtube, then owner of that content can independently sue youtube and it has nothing to do with you…

    I am not sure which ‘basic maxim of law’ says that you can breach youtubes ‘terms of use’, if youtube has breached someone elses.
    But again, I am not a law student, all I do is watch law and order.

  9. Parmanu,
    I am not saying that we should download “ONLY and ONLY those videso which breach the copyright laws of some other company, not the majority of them which are legally posted under the terms and conditions that it MAY NOT be downloaded…” In fact, I am not even downloading anything!! It was just a simple comment regarding your ethics question.
    A person who has wronged can of course bring a suit against someone else. But chances are that if he himself is guilty of some other crime, then he won’t succeed. As simple as that. Surely he “can ask for justice”. But this doesn’t mean that he will get it 🙂
    I can ask for a Porsche!!!! Will I get it just because I asked for it? 😛
    Someone stealing the licensed content is wrong legally as well as ethically.
    Oh btw, by this post, I didn’t mean to propound that “Go ahead and download whatever crap you want to and don’t give a rat’s a** about the legality of the whole thing”. I just came across this stuff!

  10. parmanu says:

    1. I know and none of my comment remotely hints that its YOU who are proposing the idea of downloading it. When I say ‘you’ up there, I mean people in general. So stop defending urself. u r not even charged.

    2. Your comparison about porsche and justice is totally misplaced and does not make any sense(TO ME), but again thats what lawyers are for…

  11. Cotton I say its good post very interesting to know some great ideas been discussed here. If you dont mind I would like to suggest one idea just try it this way and see if cool enough for you and for your blog readers too.

    Go to website called

    http://keepvid.com/

    Enter the link of youtube video in top field and click on download button, its will generate a link, click on link save the file and video is yours. Just try and let me know…

  12. Pingback: Download YouTube Video’s « Thoughts & Opinions

Leave a Reply

