Apple, General ramblings, Technology

And the iPhone is Here!

I don’t have words to describe how cool this phone looks! I don’t want to appear biased, but I think it will be the best phone out there in the market when it will be be rolled out later this year in June in partnership with A&T’s Cingular. It’s supposed to be priced at $499! It includes the normal cell phone features PLUS the iPod and the Internet Tools that you will ever need. Just makes me think that what should people like me do who already have an iPod? Time to throw it? I suspect that iPhone will also cannibalize Apple’s iPod business vastly. Obviously, more and more people will want to buy an iPhone which has everything built-in instead of shelling out $250 on an iPod. Steve Jobs expects to revolutionize the telecommunications industry in the same way as he changed the landscape of the media industry in 2001 with the introduction of his iPods. You can watch Steve Jobs presenting the iPhone over here.

Here are some screenshots from the Apple Website:

The website actually has a Demo Video that shows you how this whole thing works. You must take a look to get the real feel for it 🙂

Like many other smart phones, this one has an on screen keyboard which can be used to type in your messages.

The phone packs a punch with a lots of Hi-Tech stuff like the Multi-Touch (you can control everything using your fingers), Intelligent Keyboard (QWERTY soft keyboard lets you easily send and receive messages).It uses OS X for all the applications. It has a quad-band GSM, 802.11b/g Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth 2.0 with EDR.

I think that the best feature is the Built- in advanced sensors. Some of the things that it does includes:

iPhone’s accelerometer detects when you rotate the device from portrait to landscape, then automatically changes the contents of the display, so you immediately see the entire width of a web page or a photo in its proper landscape aspect ratio.

The proximity sensor detects when you lift iPhone to your ear and immediately turns off the display to save power and prevent inadvertent touches until iPhone is moved away.

An ambient light sensor automatically adjusts the display’s brightness to the appropriate level for the current ambient light, thereby enhancing the user experience and saving power at the same time.

Sounds good to me. I would love to give it a try later. The only problem is that I am with T-Mobile for now on a 2year contract. 😦 I think Apple will be smarter and roll out the phones with all the cell phone providers!

Okay, small UPDATE from Engadget:

And the reality slowly sets in about what the iPhone is and is not. Noted analyst and Engadget pal Michael Gartenberg stated that the iPhone is first party software ONLY — i.e. not a smartphone by conventional terms, being that a smartphone is a platform device that allows software to be installed. That means hungry power-users — you know, those people ready and willing to plunk down $600 for an 8GB musicphone — won’t be able to extend the functionality of their phone any more than Apple (but thankfully not Cingular) dictates. Other unfortunate realities about the device:

  • No 3G. We know you know, but still, it hurts man.
  • No over the air iTunes Store downloads or WiFi syncing to your host machine.
  • No expandable memory.
  • No removable battery.
  • No Exchange or Office support.

Technorati tags: , , ,

Standard

8 thoughts on “And the iPhone is Here!

  1. parmanu says:

    “…It’s supposed to be priced at $499!…”
    I wish people leave a penny everytime they visit our blog. I cud have afforded it then.

  2. I suggest that you help me set up a “Paypal donate” tab on my blog. I shall give you every single penny I get! Btw, there is a new thing called “Chip In”. I saw this kid Yuvi (THE famous critic of Scoble) using it in his blog to collect money for a Canon Powershot S2 IS. On a sidenote, it’s a nice camera and I am going to buy it this month! 🙂

  3. Okay let’s see.You’ve given it a pretty glowing review but Scobby doesn’t think likewise.Anyways,who really cares about what he thinks.

    I like it but yea,it’s way too expensive and there have been many so called “iPod killers” in the market who haven’t done anything much.I don’t know how this one would do.

    Bottomline is,I have Rs. 500,does anyone have any idea how to fool the Apple people into believing it’s 500 dollars? 😛

  4. Sk,

    Funnily I agree with whatever you have to say. It is pretty et al..but comes with a hefty price tag. Personally, I don’t know if I would pay $499 for something that won’t let me work with spreadsheets and word processors. If you guys saw the launch, Jobs goes ahead and compares it with the other smart phones in the market like Treo , Blackberry etc…when his phone doesn’t even let you install third party softwares!! So,I think that it was a very wrong comparison to make. I hardly see those business people throwing away their smart phones and switching to iPhones to listen to music or plain surf the internet when they need to work!

    Ish,

    Scoble’s words..are just that- Words. He keeps changing his side all the time…hahehee. I’ll try to send you a fake $100 note..replicate it using your photocopy machine and then try to fool jobs 😉

  5. Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve take note your stuff
    prior to and you are simply extremely excellent. I really like what you’ve got here, really like what you are stating and the way in which by which you assert it.
    You’re making it entertaining and you continue
    to take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from
    you. That is actually a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

