Books, Deathly Hallows, General ramblings, Harry Potter, J.K Rowling, YouTube

‘Scar’ No Longer the Last Word

Jo said so on Jonathan Ross’ chat show, reveals BBC:

Speaking on Jonathan Ross’ chat show, she said: “When I finished one chapter near the end I absolutely howled.”

She also revealed the character of Harry was “totally imaginary” and not based on anyone else, while Ron Weasley was a lot like her oldest friend Sean.

The interview was broadcast on BBC One on Friday night.

‘Sobbing’

She was in a hotel room alone as she finished writing the book.

“I was sobbing my heart out, I downed half a bottle of champagne from the mini bar in one and went home with mascara all over my face, that was really tough,” she said.

When asked about whether “scar” was the last word in the book as had been reported, she said: “Scar? It was so for ages, and now it’s not. Scar is quite near the end, but it’s not the last word.”

She also said it had been a “a hell of an achievement” to keep the cast of all the Potter films British.

Nearly 1.6 million copies of the final Harry Potter book have been pre-ordered online ahead of its release on 21 July.

The latest film in the series, The Order of the Phoenix, had its European premiere in London on Tuesday.

The film opens worldwide from 11 July.

UPDATE: Part 1 of her interview can be viewed here:

Harry Potter Shrine says that :

In the interview, Rowling talks about her pen name, her post-Potter plans, the number of deaths in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, character inspirations, and more. Please note that the interview contains mature content and therefore may not be appropriate for younger viewers. Thanks to MuggleNet.

Part 2 of the interview:

The D.A Army scene where Harry teaches everyone how to conjure a Patronus is shown in details and looks pretty breath-taking.

Also, check out Emma Watson’s official website. Looks pretty girly. I didn’t have the patience to go over everything though. There are birds chirping for background music (pretty stupid).

You can also check out the official Warner Brothers Harry Potter Website. It’s very tastefully done. I liked the Marauder’s Map the best. It’s an interactive feature and you can explore the Hogwarts Castle, the Grounds, Diagon Alley, the Quidditch Pitch, and many other places in details. I had a nice time with the Sorting Hat-got me into Hufflepuff. You can also go to Ollivander’s Wand Shop and let a wand select you 😉

Technorati tags: , ,

Standard

10 thoughts on “‘Scar’ No Longer the Last Word

  1. What’s the deal with Emma Watson’s website? It isn’t opening already. Giving me a gateway timeout. I so wanted to see it because I’m in the mood of trashing badly made and overartistic websites these days 😛

    So now, it isn’t scar? That means half of those books doing rounds around on the net could actually happen to be real? And what’s with crying while finishing the book. Nobody asked her to end the series and she’s doing it herself so she shouldn’t be crying..or should she? Damn, why am I soo bitter today? 😕

  2. @presti,

    yeah, my madness seems to be increasing exponentially with each book. 🙂 I have already read all of them at least 3 times, but I keep going back. Do you plan to read the new book?

    @ish,

    I totally agree with you. The website is crap. I couldn’t stand it 😛

    I wouldn’t bank on the leaked versions anyway…gotta wait till 21st. Are you going to read it?

  3. @presti, I am sure someone will put up the pdf file at least. So, even if you don’t get the hard copy, you can read it on your computer (if it’s okay with you). If I get it, I’ll email it to you.

  4. Yea, I’ll probably read it as a .pdf file too. My parents won’t let me spend that kind of money on a book. They just don’t understand what a collection is and I can’t really blame them. It’s not easy to convince your middle class parents to shell out 900 something Rs. for a book.

  5. Did I say Emma’s website was bad? Well, it’s very neat and has like no Javascript or CSS errors what so ever. Hell even Google has CSS errors!

    The background music is very annoying indeed and the way the font changes is very annoying too. The basic layout is beautiful, just like a girl would want it. But they need to cut down on the content because the website is slow and if the makers don’t service it up often, it’ll take close to 30 minutes for opening on a dial up connection. They need to do something about the mute button too. It’s just too hidden away in the design.

  6. @ish, Yeah, I agree. My parents never bought me one. I used to get it from the library.

    Emma Watson’s website…Well the layout is pretty cool. It opens really fast on broadband, but yeah, I am sure that it might be giving problems on dial up. I hated the content totally…don’t know if you read anything. I mean, she is talking about her stuffed toy Bunnykins and how long she takes to dress up before every event!!! 😡

  7. LOL! I didn’t bother to read the content at all 😛

    I heard somewhere that she had hand made the drawing which appears on the website and I don’t believe it one bit.

  8. @ish, you are intelligent. MY brain suffered some serious damages after I was done reading some content. And I don’t believe that painting bit either. Another publicity stunt, I am sure.

Leave a Reply

