Deathly Hallows, General ramblings, Harry Potter, J.K Rowling, Movies

Review: Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix

 

Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix opened to packed houses in the US. I wanted to watch it on the very first day and got my ticket two days in advance. The lady at the ticket counter asked me to come about two hours early to get good seats. Waiting for the movie to begin was as exhilarating as watching the movie itself. I arrived about 1.5 hours early to find about 20 people already standing/sitting in the line. As usual, most of them were adults who had come with their Harry Potter books. Since I thought that it will be a long wait, needless to mention, I had carried a copy of Goblet of Fire.

The movie was brilliant. I think the series is only getting better with each movie. When I had read the Order of the Phoenix, I felt that very moment that it would make a very good movie. The music by Nicholas Cooper was par excellence. Like its predecessors, there are many facts that have been changed in the movie. For example, the part where Harry, Ron and Hermoine are at Burrow before the start of the school term has been cut down. We don’t see much of Kreacher either. All together, the house elf only has about five sentences. I think Fred and George Weasley pulled off their parts really well. My favorite scene was the one where they shoot out of Hogwards during OWLs in a sexy fashion. That scene was done really well.

The girl who played the role of Luna Lovegood was awesome. It’s a tad disappointing that the director didn’t show Longbottom’s parents in St. Mungo’s Hospital and instead shows that Longbottom himself tells Harry about his parents. This robbed off some of the glamour. Dolores Umbridge in her pink dress, pink shoes and pink brooch was very impressive too.

I am kind of disappointed with Emma Watson’s performance. I felt like she over acted in many scenes. Daniel Radcliffe and Rupert Grint did a very good job though.

The last scene where the Death Eaters are trying to get the Prophecy could have been done better. The earlier movies invoked a feeling of terror in me, which this one didn’t. Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) wasn’t scary enough in this one. I wish the director, Yates, had made the last scene better. Probably increasing the length of the movie by another 30 minutes couldn’t have hurt. We Harry Potter fans wouldn’t have complained, of course. 🙂

So all you Harry Potter fans reading this- go grab yourself a ticket to the most fascinating journey of the wizard land in 2007.

Standard

10 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix

  1. I have to agree with you with the department of mysteries scenes. While the fight between Dumbly and Voldy was awesome, I felt that they rushed right through the fight scenes with the kids and the death eaters. And the whole scene at the end when Dumbly tells Harry about the prophecy – completely cut out? It was like they only had 1 day left to film the last scenes and did it as fast as possible.
    But, other than that, I absolutely loved the film!! I definitely think that Rupert is the best actor of the three of them (I love him!)

  2. @leslie, yeah what was it with the whole rush in the last part? That was like THE best thing in the book and the movie didn’t do it justice. Ditto with the Prophecy.

    Oh I love Ron too 🙂 He is just too cute. The scene where he tells Grawp to put Hermione back on the ground is very good. I liked the subtle romance between him and Hermione. More of it to come in Movie 6!!!! Btw, Harry and Cho’s kiss was sooooo normal. Instead, I liked the next scene where he tells Ron that it was “wet” and Hermione tells him that his emotional level is comparable to that of a teaspoon 😛 How cute can he get!

  3. @nitin,

    Haha..interesting thought. Well I carried Book 4, but the movie was based on Book 5. It was more of a symbol of being a Harry Potter fan, I think 🙂

  4. Wow, looks like the movie will be cool. It’s still not even released in here. Actually they are opening the first multiplex here and that’s when the movie will release. They’ve been saying it will open it will open and it’s not. So I’ve got my tickets booked for the day the multiplex opens. It’s just wait wait wait till then. I want to see it before I read the book though.

  5. Last evening I walked into the cinema playing this. Honestly, I wasn’t even interested in watching it. But I thought the film was pretty damn good…the finest two hours I’ve spent at the Cinema in recent memory.

  6. @presti, Really? That’s quite a bit coming from a staunch movie buff like yourself. 🙂 Yes, I liked the movie a lot too. The book wasn’t anything spectacular. Always felt that it provides some nice movie material.

  7. what i loved most was the fact that it was very restrained and not overblown like recent summer films. Special effects were pretty good (as usual these days) and i thought Daniel Radcliffe’s performance was quite good. Also, i have a small thing for Emma Watson. 🙂

    I think I enjoyed it a lot ‘cos I knew nothing of the book and I hadn’t even seen the previous flick. I actually had no idea who the hell the Cedric everyone kept talking about was. had to call up my bro to find out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

