Books, General ramblings

Book Review: Leviathan

I just got done reading Leviathan. It has been quite some time since a book enraptured me as much as Leviathan did. Auster’s style of writing reminds me of Coetzee in that both of them use very simple English to explain not-so-simple feelings, situations and people. After reading this book, perhaps I won’t question my life and my surroundings too much. I might even relax and not come down too hard on myself. Such has been the influence on me. Through Sach’s life, Auster potrays a way of living that is possible if we stop trying to find the answer to each and everything and instead, try to go along with the flow. Accept the fact that every action doesn’t have a single clear purpose and might be the result of a number of an integration of thoughts, even unknown to us. Something which is easier said than done. There might be too much of a co-incidence in certain incidents that have been elucidated in the book, but when I go back and think about it, the only reasonable explanation I can come up with is that everybody’s life is a co-incidence to a great extent. So why not this?

Apart from the central character, Sachs, Auster also paints some other very colorful characters, such as, Maria, Fanny and Lillian. As a reader, I almost pined to be one of them.

On a side note, I have also started reading New York Trilogy. Let’s see how it goes.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Leviathan

  1. “Accept the fact that every action doesn’t have a single clear purpose and might be the result of a number of an integration of thoughts, even unknown to us.”… Loved this bit!… Very well put.. and I agree, altthough we would KNOW it at times.. it becomes very difficult to actually accept it! .. Interesting.. havent heard of the author.. (or the book!) but wouldn’t mind picking it up.. 🙂

  2. @amit, I think most of our confusion arises when we try to attach some significance to each action and try to find clear answers. If you are into fiction reading, then you should try to read this book. It’s a very simple read. You will take probably a day or two. That’s it.

  3. @ Ruhi,

    Although I have read some Fiction, most of what I read is non-fiction! .. But yes, this sounds like a light and interesting read! :)… Let me read more “about it”.. I somehow like reading “about books” as well.. :D… lol!

Leave a Reply

