General ramblings, Google, Microsoft, Technology, Thoughts

Consumers suffer at the hands of Microsoft!

Not me, that’s what the EU anti-trust rulings said. Microsoft has lost the case and needs to pay $600 million + in fines and agree to ship Windows sans Windows Media Player! The company hasn’t said anything right now. They want to first go through the 248 pages long ruling and then decide whether they want to appeal or not.

I very well think they will file an appeal and if they do, then it will take another several years for this matter to get resolved.

Andrew Donoghue, at tech publisher ZDNet said the EU-Microsoft battle over software for playing music and movies “seems pretty old-school now.” More important for Microsoft is its effort to sell its new operating system, Vista, an effort that may prove challenging given the fierce competition it’s facing in the marketplace. “A real feeling in the market has taken hold that [Microsoft] has lost whatever innovative direction it might have had and just has nothing to offer when it comes to competing with Apple’s brilliantly realised consumer offerings and Google’s complete dominance of the Internet—and increasing office productivity tools. Microsoft is rapidly being painted into a corner—with no real idea of how to get out.”

Frankly speaking, I’m a little surprised. I wanted them to lose the case, but I wasn’t really sure if they would. They have enjoyed monopoly over their crappy products for a long time. It’s time for other companies to march in.

UPDATE: For all those people who think that I’m an idiot and don’t know what a monopoly is (even though I’m doing my MBA), please be informed that the court itself is of the opinion that Microsoft is guilty of monopoly abuse.

To quote the article:

The EU Court of First Instance ruled against Microsoft on both major parts of the case, saying the European Commission was correct in concluding that the company was guilty of monopoly abuse in trying to use its power over desktop computers to muscle into server software.

So, for people who are not on Microsoft’s payroll and regard it as the biggest regret in their lives, I have one piece of advice- SHUT UP!

Something for you Microsoft enthusiasts!

Standard

14 thoughts on “Consumers suffer at the hands of Microsoft!

  1. I have to completely disagree with this view on the Microsoft deal. I actually posted my thought on my blog here at http://www.thehexagonaffect.com.

    Anyway, I think it’s a sad day with the government has to intervene and decide consumer behavior. That’s what markets are for, and that’s what Capitalism is all about. It’s not ironic that this ruling was in the EU – you’d have the same ruling in France!!!

    Anyway, if people as a whole didn’t like Microsoft platforms, they wouldn’t buy the computers from Dell, HP, etc… that use Windows. And then, the computer makers would be uploading Windows. Why? Because the consumer would dictate was is most desired.

    And much like those of you that take a supportive position with the ruling – you have options – you can buy a Mac. See how easy that was! And then you don’t have to worry about using Microsoft.

    I think MS is really just an example of the problem of being too successful – and man, we can’t have that now can we!

    I love all bloggers, and I’m just posting my opinion! Please let my comment make it to your blog as I think it’s productive to have different views from those of us that are willing to visit your blog!

  2. @Swen, 😉

    @Robert, Thank you for taking the time to comment on my blog. What I have to say is it’s the Govt’s responsibility to intervene and protect consumer behavior. Correct me if I’m wrong, but hasn’t Microsoft enjoyed its monopoly status for too long? It’s taken almost a decade for this decision. Sharing codes with others won’t be too bad. Competition is always good for the consumers else we’ll never see better products in our lives!

    @admin, I agree 🙂 Did you see the new slogan by Walmart? “Save Money. Live Better”. Just another way of saying that they sell everything cheap (and hence) help us in living better. What about offering better products for a healthier living? We need to ask Walmart that question.

  3. jskiba says:

    you can re-use this post 🙂 consumers-suffer-at-the-hands-of-walmart. I was a little too close to walmart for my comfort so there’s a little space between us now.

  4. “..needs to pay $600 million..”

    I wish I get my share of it!!

    Btw, ruhi thanks for quick comment on my post. I accidentally deleted and reposted it.
    ur comment was deleted so i reposted ur comment under my name. just in case u get confused abt it.

  5. Pingback: The EU’s case against Microsoft « Sparks Team Blog

  6. I have been thinking about it actually, but I’ll need to shift to Blogger, which I don’t want to do. i think WP will introduce something that will enable us to earn ad revenue in the future.

  7. Pingback: Microsoft’s Core Competency « Time and Again

  8. Pingback: Microsoft Fined $1.4 Billion in the Anti Trust EU Case « Time and Again

Leave a Reply

