Entertainment, Life, Movies, Thoughts

Review: Manhattan

Finally, got down to watching Manhattan and boy, what a movie! 🙂 It might not be one of Woody Allen’s favorite movies, but it certainly is mine. For me, it was about how love changes according to age. It’s much purer when you are younger; as we grow older, love and relationships become more of a convenience. Manhattan deals with the imperfections of a person and his fast paced life.

Diane Keaton looks stunning as Mary. I really liked that part where she says, “I can make the entire faculty of MIT sleep with me”. 🙂

Meryl Streep…well she never ages, does she? She always looks the same, whether it be in Manhattan, or in Kramer v. Kramer or, in The Hours. There wasn’t much about her lesbian relationship with her girlfriend. Even though she had a small and meaningful role, I wish that we had gotten to see more of her. Maybe I just like her too much, but she always looks so fresh and nice.

Presti, now I know what you meant! Annie Hall’s next on my list.

I also watched another beautiful Chinese movie called Raise the Red Lantern. It’s about a 19 year old girl who decides to marry a rich man who already has three wives and to live as his concubine. Soon, she realizes that she needs to constantly fight and play games to get her man’s attention. What’s really striking is the fact that we never get to see the man’s face in the entire movie. I wish that this movie had won the Oscar instead of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon! It really deserved to win. It did win the BAFTA Award for the Best Foreign Film in 1992. Do watch it if you like watching foreign movies.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Review: Manhattan

  1. Ah! You have made my day! 🙂 Glad you loved it…(I sound like I had something to do with the film)

    I love that monologue in the end about why life’s worth living. Brilliant writing. Every single line is so damn clever and reeks with intelligence…man…I could go on!

  2. I typed a long comment and it vanished 😦

    Anyway, do you remember the scene where Tracy tells Woody that she can go to London to learn drama and she doesn’t want to go. Then Woody tells her “London will always have Paris. What do you mean by what you’ll do in London?” Haha…

    Also, when Yale tells Woody that he’s acting like a God and Woody says, “Well..you gott idolize someone?”. Hehe…

    I even liked the part where Diane Keaton bumps into her husband Jeremiah and he turns out to be this really dorky fellow and how amused Woody gets…

    What’s your favorite part?

  3. Favorite part…that’s going to be hard. You’ve already mentioned 3 of them! 🙂

    But a line that always cracks me up is when he says, ”No, I didn’t read the piece on China’s faceless masses, I was, I was checking out the lingerie ads.” 😀

    That Jeremiah character was awesome…the look on Allen’s face is priceless.

    Now I know you’re going to love Annie Hall…loads of gems in there too. Actually the characters in both the films are more or less the same but Manhattan gets my vote because I love the palette of the city and how he describes his love affair with the city.

  4. @Sreejith, Yes, you must watch Manhattan. It’s awesome. I actually liked it better than Annie Hall. The latter disappointed me a bit, even though it won lots of Oscars. Haven’t watched Scoop. I’ll try to watch it. Thanks for telling me.

Leave a Reply

