Blogging, General ramblings, Meme, Quotes, Tagged

Tagged

 I was tagged by Arvind. I try to do these if someone tags me even though it’s not really my style. 🙂

Top five Quotes/Lines 

“Let me see if I’ve got this straight: in order to be grounded, I’ve got to be crazy and I must be crazy to keep flying. But if I ask to be grounded, that means I’m not crazy any more and I have to keep flying. ”

-Yossarian, Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

 “Who said that? Who the fuck said that? Who’s the slimy little communist shit, twinkle-toed cocksucker down here who just signed his own death warrant? Nobody, huh? The fairy fucking godmother said it. Out-fucking-standing. I will PT you all until you fucking die. I’ll PT you until your assholes are sucking buttermilk.”

-Gunnery Sergeant Hartman, Full Metal Jacket (1987)

“What does the term “anti-American” mean? Does it mean you are anti-jazz? Or that you’re opposed to freedom of speech? That you don’t delight in Toni Morrison or John Updike? That you have a quarrel with giant sequoias? Does it mean that you don’t admire the hundreds of thousands of American citizens who marched against nuclear weapons, or the thousands of war resisters who forced their government to withdraw from Vietnam? Does it mean that you hate all Americans?”

Arundhati Roy, From a speech called “Come September

“I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where. I love you straightforwardly, without complexities or pride; so I love you because I know no other way.”

Pablo Neruda

“An intellectual is a person who has discovered something more interesting than sex”

Aldous Huxley

Bonus Quote:

“Don’t knock masturbation- it’s sex with someone I love”.

Woody Allen (Annie Hall) 

Five Things I want to Say and Never Will

1. Your laptop broke because of me. I put my foot on it by mistake.

2. Stop adding pictures to your Facebook album because you’re jealous of mine.

3. If I see another Indian putting up pictures in his social networking album flashing his car or motorbike, then I’ll kill him. Better yet, I’ll remove him from my friend list.

4. You really annoy me when you keep talking without a single pause because you don’t want to listen to what I’ve got to say. But you want me to pretend that your new crush is the most interesting thing in the entire world.

5. Please don’t leave me alone. At least find me someone else in your place. 😐

Five Things I’d Love To Do Before I Die

1. Get a Ph.D in Finance from a top college.

2. Have a library which has all the books that I’ve ever read, right from my childhood and all the movies that I’ve ever seen.

3. Visit Austria (for my love for Mozart).

4. Have a Foundation that’ll pay for the tuition fees of some worthy students every year.

5. Stop biting my nails.

Five Things I Will Not Do Even If It Kills Me

1. Do drugs

2. Watch Rajnikanth/Vijaykanth movies.

3. Read anything written in Hindi

4. Eat meat- not because it’s against my religion or anything. I just can’t eat meat.

5. Read Victorian literature

Five Things I Do When I’m Away From The Public

1. Watch hindi movies and songs

2. Read gossip columns on celebrities

3. Fart

4. Click pictures of myself with disgusting facial expressions

5. Dig my nose

Five Things I’ll Make You Wish You Didn’t Do, If You Did

1. Criticize my family. They mean the world to me, even though they’re imperfect

2. Lose my ear rings

3. Criticize Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose

4. Use my toothbrush

5. Break any of my electronic items.

P.S: I forgot to tag 5 more victims. They are- Baba Yaga, Carrotmadman, Nikhil, Swen, and Nova. But I give them the liberty of doing just one or two sections of this tag game, in case they don’t want to do the whole thing.

P.P.S- Like Nikhil, PLEASE do not change the original questions!! You can only omit one or more parts if you want.

Standard

34 thoughts on “Tagged

  1. @Nova:

    Great! 🙂 Look forward to your post then!

    @Arvind, Thank you 🙂 About Rajni, I don’t understand telugu. I tried watching Sivaji for 5 minutes, but gave up after I saw him romancing some lady half his age. 😐

  2. ulag says:

    ur really making a mistake by not wanting to watch vijaykanth movies!!!…trust me theyre damn hilarious!!! what with his stunts tht defy all the ground rules of physics and science in all its forms!!!….me n my frnds just watch it to laugh at its absurdity and its so much fun!!! in one scene hes being tortured by electrocution and the generator itself explodes…he explains it thus: “a normal man will get a shock from current…but i give shock to the current itself”!!! 😀

    chk this video of his exploits

  3. @carrotmadman6:

    You need to basically answer all of these questions on your blog also. 🙂 Would you like to do it?

    @Rohan, Thank you 🙂 I love that entire movie. Some of those songs which the Sergeant made them sing are SO effin’ awesome. I can watch that movie millions of times without getting bored.

    @Ulag, Thank you for stopping by! 🙂 About Vijaykanth, yes…I have seen some scenes on Youtube. They are quite funny for sure. I know he and Rajni have lots of fans.

  4. “Have a Foundation that’ll pay for the tuition fees of some worthy students every year.”
    well i cannot leave without dropping a comment for someone with such a noble wish
    “Read anything written in Hindi”.y..hate hindi as i do ? 🙂

  5. @Arvind, haha..Will do 🙂

    @Rekhaa, Thank you for stopping by.

    [y..hate hindi as i do ?]

    I don’t hate Hindi…I speak Hindi fluently, but when it comes to reading, eerrr…it takes too much of an effort. I don’t remember reading anything in Hindi except for the mandatory textbooks.

  6. Well, interesting read.

    Annie Hall has some of the most seminal commentaries on relationships and life. The one which takes the cake, for me, is

    ” I dont want to be part of a club which has me as a member “

  7. It’s so funny that you mentioned Manhattan. Can you believe that I was watching that yesterday!!! The DVD got stuck at the point where Diana Keaton meets her ex husband in the book store. I want to watch those remaining 35 min or so, but have no idea how am going to do that…as the dvd store from where I rent has only one copy of it
    Yes, Manhattan is pretty good too..but Annie Hall was just perfect..Honestly, I watched annie hall twice as I think one time is not enough to understand the movie..
    Btw, watch his hannah and her sisters and stardust memories too if you get a chance..
    I have liked his earlier movies too..like take the money and run..i think it was so funny..

  8. @lallopallo, Oh yes! That’s a pretty scene. It’s so sad that the DVD got stuck there 😦 crap! I would be swearing if that happened to me.

    I watched Annie Hall only once. Maybe I should watch it again. I wanted to watch Hannah and her sisters too. There are SO many movies to watch and so little time. 🙂

  9. Ya, so many movies to watch. The best thing is to make a list of those movies which you really wanna watch and then make sure you do so in due course of time. Iam sure that there are not as many good movies as there are good books.

  10. @lallopallo:

    I actually have a mental list of all the movies I want to watch 🙂

    [Iam sure that there are not as many good movies as there are good books.]

    I think I love both equally…earlier, I used to think that there aren’t enough good movies. Now, I feel that that’s not the case. I love watching international movies and you would be surprised to see the talent out there.

  11. Oh really? You have the mental list for all the movies..that’s cool..Why dont you share it with me and I can tell you which ones are not worth watching in case I have already done so..:)
    Ya, I have watched quite a few international movies..turkish, iranian, french, italian etc..many of them in International Film Festivals when I was in India..
    Btw, I tagged you to answer some stupid questions..answer them if you get time..

  12. @lallo, I want to watch some movies by Wang Kar Wai next 🙂 I have a few DVDs lying around…but haven’t gotten the time. You can visit my cinema page. It has a comprehensive list of the movies that I’ve enjoyed in the past.

    You should probably make a page on movies too 🙂

  13. Thanks for introducing him. For all my knowledge on world cinema, I never heard about him. I was reading about him and it was interesting to note that he follows a non-linear structure in his screenplays..I would surely try to watch his movies. Iam now going to visit your cinema page..
    As for me putting a page on cinema, I guess it will be tough for me as I have many of them..Still, I will try

Leave a Reply

