Amazon, Blogging, Books, Business, E-books, Finance, General ramblings, Life, literature, Technology, Thoughts

Re-Kindle Your Reading Habits…or Not

There has been so much of hype about Amazon’s e-book reader, Kindle, that I absolutely had to do a post on it. Yesterday, while I was looking for Black Friday deals on the internet, I happened to go to their website (out of habit) and the way they had placed the ad for Kindle really amused me. The only thing visible in the entire page was that ad. It’s like Amazon is telling us- “Stop buying those paper books that we’ve become so good at selling; look at our new baby!!” I’m a big time admirer of Jeff Bezos, his business antics and Amazon. But this new product has failed to impress me. You almost take a gulp when you read the hefty price tag of $399. That’s quite expensive even though it contains free EDVO (Wireless service provided by Amazon). I’ll tell you why.

Right out of the box, you cannot you any of those free e-books that can be downloaded from the internet. You’ve got to pay $9.99 each for reading newspapers, magazines, some 250 blogs and other e-books that are available for download from their website. There are some that cost less than $9.99 too. So, hardbacks and their siblings paper backs are still extremely popular with your generation. Some of these old hardbacks cost thousands of dollars. You think an e-book will ever be valued as much? No. Not in the near future at least.

Guy Kawasaki says that this is one of the best things out there in the market. (You can watch the video on the product page). He focused more on the fact that you can keep opening it to read updated content from blogs. He is a famous blogger and he’s received a free copy! What about my blog friends who aren’t among those elite 250 bloggers and whose blogs are equally interesting for me? Why would I want to read blogs on an e-book reader? My laptop is a better choice there. Ditto for magazines and newspapers. I can read them online using my laptop.

My motive in life is to reduce the number of tech gadgets that I would want to carry with me. Actually, if I want to read an e-book (which I seldom do), then I would prefer using my laptop. I wouldn’t want to invest $400 buying an e-book reader. That money would be better spent in buying more physical books. How do we build a physical library with e-books? This concept doesn’t appeal to me.

Another thing- Why are the exteriors white in color? All that handling will make it dirty…very fast.

Amazon is already out of these readers and the new stocks comes in only on December 5, 2007. You can grab yours by December 24, 2007. They haven’t released the figures on the number of readers already sold. Did they under estimate the demand or were they not sure about the success? I think the former reasoning is better, because Bezos wouldn’t have put his foot into a new venture had he not been sure of it. Already becoming Nintendo Wii, huh? Oh by the way, Amazon is giving away Wiis for $79 for Thanksgiving to the first 1,000 lucky customers.

Follow this link to read about Scoble’s take…and see him eat, breathe and sleep Kindle for a couple of days. By the way, those top 250 bloggers are getting 30% of the money you pay while subscribing. Fair enough. It’s their content after all.

I would spend my $399 on some Apple device, to tell you the truth. Either buy the iPhone or the new iPod. That would be money well spent- at least until Apple ungrades its products A G A I N.

Standard

16 thoughts on “Re-Kindle Your Reading Habits…or Not

  1. I like the Sony Reader a bit more than this…so far all the reviews for the Kindle seem pretty decent. Honestly I’d like to try it out but then again…nothing beats the feel of paper and that damp smell of new books!

  2. Amrita says:

    400 bucks to read something on a screen?! Who the hell thought this was a good idea? I read tons every week but after spending hours on my computer I need my old paper book to unwind. It’s a comfort issue. I can see myself buying this thing – if i were getting ready to blast off into outer space for the next couple of years.

  3. @Emperor Guillotine:

    Yes, the Amazon reviews (funny) are not that great. Many bloggers are raving about it. But then again, most of them are looking at it only as a tech gadget.

    @Amrita,

    Yep! Totally agree with you. I don’t think people who reads tons of books will fall for this. Correct me if I’m wrong, but Amazon’s biggest promo line is “Get that new book within a minute!”. But as far as I know, not all new releases will have a compatible Kindle version, right? Imagine having to buy a hardback and a soft copy for the e-book reader.

    Plus, what about our bookshelves? They’ll feel pretty deserted.

    @Amit, Actually it’s supposed to be a reading device for newspapers, magazines and books too, in addition to blogs. But seriously, I would prefer buying a cell phone that does everything for me instead of spendin $299 on an e-book reader. Most of us are on our laptops anyway…and Amazon is targeting every single person who reads. They say that it will reduce the clutter in your briefcase while you’re traveling. Yes, it can be used in trains and other long commutes. But carrying a book is not *that* big a problem for most people.

    Unintentionally, these devices will appeal to only the techies and not the lit. buffs.

  4. Who reads ebooks anyway? Oh, wait these dudes do. 😛 Like you I read magazines/news on my PC so no need for a specialized reader. If you want another show off device then its good. Other than that for my use its not. I’d prefer a nice hard/paperback be it more expensive than one kindle… 😀

    I would spend my $399 on some Apple device
    I would take over Microsoft with that much…. 😛

  5. actually 400$ is quite a lot of money to read books .. still its a really innovative idea by amazon people .. I think they should have made the product more popular like apple did for itouch..
    Lots and lots of people purchased that phone without a phone service … which is almost worthless .. for about the same price ..

  6. Pingback: 3mx.info » Blog Archive » Re-Kindle Your Reading Habits…or Not

  7. @Ashish:

    I would take over Microsoft with that much…. 😛

    You do know that I’m known as the MSFT hater, right? 😉 You made me very happy with that statement. Heh.

    This device will be reduced to another tech gadget…that’s it. I don’t envision many people using it for reading books. Blogs…maybe.

  8. You do know that I’m known as the MSFT hater, right?
    You do know that I love MSFT [to an extent] for making great games [publishing actually] like Age of Empires series? 😛 But it doesn’t go further than that. 😀

    I don’t envision many people using it for reading books. Blogs…maybe.
    A $300 thing to read blogs? Blah, I can spend my money somewhere else. 😉

  9. @Ashish:

    //You do know that I love MSFT [to an extent] for making great games [publishing actually] like Age of Empires series? 😛 But it doesn’t go further than that. 😀

    Ooohh! Thank God. Else you would have made an enemy right now!

    //A $300 thing to read blogs? Blah, I can spend my money somewhere else. 😉

    I said that because only geeks will buy this stuff 😛 So, geeks will read blogs. Hehe.

  10. Ooohh! Thank God. Else you would have made an enemy right now!
    Oh darn, missed opportunity then… can’t be inducted into the evil emperor hall of fame if I don’t have more than 20 enemies…. 😛

    I said that because only geeks will buy this stuff 😛 So, geeks will read blogs. Hehe.
    Well I call myself “Geek Wrestler” and I don’t see myself buying that. Just me though, but like you, even I think that I should reduce the number of gadgets. One gadget to rule them all! 😈

  11. // can’t be inducted into the evil emperor hall of fame if I don’t have more than 20 enemies….

    Hehe..you’re really mean. I should be careful with you.

    //Well I call myself “Geek Wrestler” and I don’t see myself buying that

    Yep, me neither!

Leave a Reply

