Blogging, Facebook, General ramblings, Life, Social Networking, Technology, Thoughts, YouTube

Let’s Flock Together

Those of you who love Mozilla Firefox will absolutely swoon over the ‘social browser’ Flock. It’s out of beta finally and version 1 was released in early November. It’s an absolute pleasure using it because it has a number of blogging and social networking tools. It has a number of wonderful features:

1. Inbuilt tool for writing a blog post: Just like Firefox users can add Performancing, Flock has this tool which has all the basic features needed for writing a bog post. I haven’t yet tried it, but for those of you who write short posts (esp. after reading something on the internet), this feature will definitely come handy.

2. Screenshot: There is an amazing extension which can take screenshots of all the web pages! This reduces my reliance on Snippy and Microsoft OneNote.

The greater amount of integration there is in a browser, the better it is.

3. Remain signed into all those networking website right from the comforts of your browser: Yes! All you Facebook, Youtube, and Flickr enthusiasts, this one is for you. (Take a look at the picture above) You can use all the basic features of Facebook right from this sidebar. Same goes for Flickr and Youtube.

4. Upload pictures to Photobucket/Flickr/Facebook directly from your browser when the pictures are stored in your hard disk.

5. There is a “Media” tab that lets you browse through different Youtube videos and search and play your favorite ones in a mini window that always remains at the top. So, even if you are browsing the internet, the video window will stay on top of your current page. This reduces the need to stay on Youtube while watching videos. You can also browse recently uploaded photos on Flickr/Photobucket or photos uploaded by your friends on Facebook. (Take a look at the picture above).

6. Inbuilt Clipboard: Let’s you drag and drop any URL, picture, text from a webpage on to the sidebar for later use.

Too good to be true huh? 😉

6. I even like their Feed Reader. It’s much cooler than Firefox’s.

7. There is a tab called “My World” that provides a summary of everything that’s imagefunctioning in your browser at the current moment.

8. You can add other Flock users to your friend list using an add on called “Me.dium” and see what they’re browsing. I haven’t yet given this one a try, but soon, I will. If any of you want to add me, then leave me a comment.

Most of the Firefox plug ins and add ons work with Flock. My biggest fear was if the Greasemonkey script will work and it does! 🙂

Flock has special features that imports all your settings (including the add ons) from your Firefox browser.

The only thing lacking now is perhaps “Themes”. I’m not really a user of browser themes; so it doesn’t really matter to me.

Another really cool thing that I noticed is that suppose you are reading one of your friend’s blogs. When you hover your mouse over their pictures, which in case they’ve uploaded from their Flickr album, then your browser will prompt you and let you view their entire Flickr album in the “Media stream at the upper corner of your browser. You can also ask your browser to let you know if your friends have updated their albums recently. Yes, lots of cool stuff…

So, why don’t you give it a try? Let’s flock n roll!

Standard

20 thoughts on “Let’s Flock Together

  1. hostnews says:

    looks great, still a little cluttered though. In some ways, I find that when companies try to simplify they make it more complex – you spend more time organizing your organization tools than anything else.

  2. This new theme seems great but I fear I may not be able to actually ‘manage’ it, not being tech savvy. However that doesn’t mean I won’t try it.

  3. I’m using flock myself. You know that already though. It’s a needed evolution for a web browser in general, even though it’s release 1. I can imagine that by the time this is in release 2 or 3, there’ll be a market full of this sort of browser.

  4. @hostnews:

    Thank you for your comment. Actually, I found this browser to be really clutter free. There are only small buttons that you need to press in case you need to activate any particular function. It’s one of the best browsers out there.

    @Nita, Yes, I hope that you give it a try. There is nothing really techy about it. You might take an hour or so to understand all the features, but once you do, you won’t stop surfing. 🙂

    @Patrick,

    Yes, you told me. I wonder why there is only one such browser that caters to the web 2.0 market. With all this integration stuff that’s going on, I would have expected some more competition out there.

  5. bApHoMEt says:

    Waoh! i just read a review of Flock from Prestidigitator. yours is far more detailed. I love this browser. And the reson i love it the most (other than every one of the features) is that all my firefox plugins work.

    p.s. the Journalist theme looks good on your blog.

  6. @Bap- Presti got the idea after reading my post. 😛 Just joking. Yes, all the plug ins work and the best thing is that they’re automatically imported in seconds for you!

    I like this new theme too. It is quite white and has lots of space everywhere. One of the best themes at WP.

  7. I’d recommend Performancing over Flock’s inbuilt reader. I use ScribeFire [what Performancing is called now] as it offers more functionality.

    Remain signed into all those networking website right from the comforts of your browser: Yes! All you Facebook, Youtube, and Flickr enthusiasts, this one is for you. (Take a look at the picture above) You can use all the basic features of Facebook right from this sidebar. Same goes for Flickr and Youtube.
    Other services which people miss, Flock won’t be integrating them but releasing an API so that services can integrate themselves. Chances are that this API will allow more services than ever Flock can add them. Win-Win

    6. Inbuilt Clipboard: Let’s you drag and drop any URL, picture, text from a webpage on to the sidebar for later use.Too good to be true huh?
    One problem, doesn’t have the option to upload to your photo/picture account. Links to the page you stole from, stealing that persons bandwidth. But I guess you can’t have everything. 😀

    6. I even like their Feed Reader. It’s much cooler than Firefox’s.
    I practically live and breathe that. 😀

    The only thing lacking now is perhaps “Themes”. I’m not really a user of browser themes; so it doesn’t really matter to me.
    Themes will be in by the start of next year or so they say. Indeed theme developers are encouraged to contact the Flock team so that they can start developing.

    How do I know that without working for them? I wrote a long piece praising everything and bashing the feed reader of the 0.91 version [my 2nd of three posts on flock] and Evan Hamilton [their community embassador, or lead guy for MonstersAreNotMyths band] got in touch for my feedback. So thats when I asked him about it. You can find these same answers have now been added to their FAQ. 😀

    One and half a year of using Flock [with a flirtation of FF2] and I’m lovin’ it. 😛

  8. @Ashish:

    Your browser plug-in inspired me to do this post. So, a big thank you 🙂

    //Flock won’t be integrating them but releasing an API so that services can integrate themselves. Chances are that this API will allow more services than ever Flock can add them. Win-Win

    Oh really? Wow, that’s coool! 🙂

    Agree about the clipboard thingy. They should let us upload our own pics though. They have such a nice picture uploader that can be used for Facebook/Flickr/Photobucket etc. I used it for uploaded an album to Facebook. It’s funny that they don’t let us upload our pics from the hard disk to the clipboard or the blogger plug in.

    //I practically live and breathe that. 😀

    One thing- I’m not being able to import my Google Reader items 😦 I don’t know why! I downloaded the file and then tried to upload it to the Flock reader…but it’s not working. Any idea why this is happening?

    //So thats when I asked him about it. You can find these same answers have now been added to their FAQ. 😀

    Wow! Cool stuff. I’ll check it out.

    I started using it only recently actually…when it came out of Beta. Great that you’ve been using it since 1.5 years!

    Edit: Forgot to mention that I actually use WLW for writing my posts. Used the Flock Blog writer for doing two small posts on my other CFA blog and it’s quite neat. But yeah, performancing definitely has more features.

  9. One thing- I’m not being able to import my Google Reader items 😦 I don’t know why! I downloaded the file and then tried to upload it to the Flock reader…but it’s not working. Any idea why this is happening?
    Try exporting as an OPML file. And import that file. I did the manual way of adding everything.. less bother banging your head. 😛 There are some issues with the reader but its a HUGE improvement over 0.9, but not as good as 0.7 or pre public-beta reader.

    Great that you’ve been using it since 1.5 years!
    Since pre-beta. lol. [I remember bragging about that when ish commented on Cat’s blog saying he wrote about Flock before Scoble {Sep 06} and then I commented and said I did that way before in May 06. LOL]

  10. @Ashish:

    //Try exporting as an OPML file. And import that file. I did the manual way of adding everything.. less bother banging your head. 😛 There are some issues with the reader but its a HUGE improvement over 0.9, but not as good as 0.7 or pre public-beta reader.

    That’s what I tried doing…I’ll give it another try now. Hopefully, it’ll work.

    //Since pre-beta. lol. [I remember bragging about that when ish commented on Cat’s blog saying he wrote about Flock before Scoble {Sep 06} and then I commented and said I did that way before in May 06. LOL]

    Haha..that’s funny. 🙂 Poor Ish.

  11. Yeah, poor me right left and center. Damn I’m so poor that I should get my IIT entrance form for Rs. 250. It seems like a waste paying Rs. 1000 for it because I know very well I’m not somebody who’s gonna clear it. I will give the test though, just for experience as they say.

    I had a good time when I used Flock but the only problem then was that my PC was a Celeron with 128MB RAM and hence it would take light years to open Flock and I couldn’t enjoy even the basic features. Moreover, I pretty much hate Photobucket so that photo uploading thing wasn’t working well for me. Might give it another try since Ash also says it’s wonderful but only after I get Windows reinstalled. Right now my laptop is in such a poor state that it hangs up as soon as I take it off power supply. So basically it’s become more like a PC. I think I have some major registry and other errors in my Windows that I can’t fix myself.

  12. //It seems like a waste paying Rs. 1000 for it because I know very well I’m not somebody who’s gonna clear it. I will give the test though, just for experience as they say.

    Haha 🙂 Well, why don’t you study for it then? You’re paying 1000 Rs. anyway!

    //Moreover, I pretty much hate Photobucket so that photo uploading thing wasn’t working well for me.

    You can actually upload your pics to Flickr or Facebook too. Even I don’t use Photobucket. I dislike it. Flickr has a very good photo community though.

  13. Well I usually work like this – Photobucket: Screenshots and other things not called Photos. Flickr: Photos and only photos. I find it better that way and since I’m a Photobucket user for nearly 3 years now, I find it a lot better than flickr if you just want to upload the image and link to it without anything fancy.

    Oh and Facebook = ? 😛

  14. @Ashish:

    I tried photobucket a really long time back when flickr wasn’t popular. but using both the sites for diff. purposes is a very smart idea. never occured to me! As a result, I end up putting all stupid blog photos on Flick and…

    //Oh and Facebook = ? 😛

    I use facebook for uploading my pics because there’s unlimited space and no kind of restriction. 🙂 I lost lots of pics earlier bcoz I hadn’t uploaded them anywhere. So, now, I make it a point to upload at least some good ones on Facebook so that I don’t lose the entire set.

  15. ruhi: Well I am technically lazy for anything of that kind. I started using PB when I was on blogger and was looking for hosting to upload some SS. From then on its just grown as a picture clipboard for me. Upload and then just drag the SS from the media bar to the blog post. Easy and simple. Flickr is for photos as I find it better to organise that way. I don’t upload that much so it fits the bill. 🙂

    Oh and I don’t use FB much. I don’t see the point of it, lol.

    Ruhi: Oh really? I didn’t know that you can drag the SS from the media bar to the blog post. I gotta give it a try! Thanks for telling me. 🙂 On, and technology is supposed to make us lazy..LOL

  16. Hey ruhi, I just noticed you have a CFA blog, so that tells something about you? How do you manage studies with work and blogging??

    And which one is your other blog?

    Ruhi: Ahh..well…I manage it somehow 🙂 It’s getting difficult though, because I’m about to graduate in less than 2 weeks. The 3rd blog is just a job blog with all my work stuff in it.

  17. Pingback: What’s in my Laptop? « Time and Again

Leave a Reply

