Entertainment, General ramblings, hollywood, Life, Thoughts

Love Me for My Soul…

jennifer_love_hewitt1.jpg

Recently, Jennifer Love Hewitt received a lot of flack because of some private bikini shots that got circulated around the Internet. Agree, she doesn’t look perfect. All that cellulite and sagging assets won’t make anyone in the show business proud and would be enough to get the gossip mills running. But let’s get real- who doesn’t have cellulite? Probably the only ones who have flawless bodies are the ones who spend thousands of dollars getting all kinds of fixes every year. People’s obsession with losing weight and becoming a size zero is plain crazy and sometimes provokes me to question my sanity and my eating habits. When all that we read everything only asks us to lose weight, then how exactly can any woman be made to feel proud of her body?

I’m a size 6 and I’m proud of myself. If I can reduce another dress size, then it would be great, but I wouldn’t try to kill myself over it. It’s been a long time since I heard anyone speaking out in the way Jennifer Love Hewitt did in response to the negative media attention-

“To all girls with butts, boobs, hips and a waist,” she wrote, “put on a bikini — put it on and stay strong.”

A simple, but a very powerful line…enough to get the message across! And definitely some serious food for thought for all those men out there! I have been reading some forums and discussions in the comments section. Most of the women out there have been very supportive regarding this issue. I, for one, definitely don’t think that she looks fat or anything. It’s a bikini for God’s sake! Plus, was she dressed for any movie? No. I think such invasion of privacy by the paparazzi needs to be stopped. It puts more pressure on everyone. Their obsession with the way the stars dress and look in their private time is plain crazy. I think they are humans too and deserve to have “bad wardrobe days”.

Why is it that the male stars never receive so much of criticism when it comes to their looks? Isn’t this a gender bias? Do only women have a duty to look pretty? Most of the gossip columns run their businesses thanks to eccentricities of Lindsay Lohan, Britney Spears, Paris Hilton, TomKat and Brangelina. I don’t read anything about what the guys did. I’m sure they have their goof ups too.

The focus should be on eating healthy food and staying fit and not on losing weight and trying to fit into that size 00 dress. Guys who can’t appreciate their women for what they are need to go take a hike!

Standard

25 thoughts on “Love Me for My Soul…

  1. “But let’s get real- who doesn’t have cellulite? Probably the only ones who have flawless bodies are the ones who spend thousands of dollars getting all kinds of fixes every year.”

    Actually I do not know many people who _have_ cellulite. To be fair I only ever heard about it when I came to live in Europe!

    I think there are many possibilities to explain this “problem” – that it occurs disproportionately in some ethnic groups and not others; that it results from weight-cycling (rapid weight loss and weight gain, cyclically which is also possibly a show-biz thing); that it is a “manufactured” problem so cosmetic firms can flog more parabens to hapless and insecure scientifically illiterate women.

    Those whom I know, who do have cellulite have a lifestyle in imbalance – no exercise, random eating habits, preference for alcohol and smoking, bad sleeping habits. Those who do not have cellulite do not spend 1000s of dollars getting fixes; they just choose and strive for balance. Exercise, believe it or not, plays a big role in managing a lot of problems including regulation of appetite, mood and sleep cycle, cardiovascular fitness, and improvement in body composition (reducing subcutaneous fat and fat around internal organs, and building lean tissue and muscle tone).

    As for whether it is fair, as a “celebrity” whatever that means, well, you live by the sword, you die by the sword. It is not fair but life rarely is.

  2. bApHoMEt says:

    Being a big JLH fan since…er…’I know what you did last summer,’ I was certainly taken aback by the picture. But, I still think she’s cute. I can remember that video of ‘Hero’ by Enrique where she looks absolutely diving.

    Coming to the point at hand, what separates real beauty from the skin deep kind is not showing how beautiful you are by hiding your flaws, but how beautiful you are inspite of them.

  3. @Shefaly, Yes, what you said about regular exercise and its effect on everything else is quite true. We need to eat right AND exercise in order to maintain a healthy lifestyle. The reason I decided to do this post was not to show what happens when we don’t exercise, but because I liked the way Hewitt shot back at the press and took a stand. What she said about being proud of our body is a very nice thing to say. And if you look at her pictures, she is a very pretty woman. Sure, she looks unflattering here, but all of us have our days. 🙂

    I don’t like the way the world is going crazy over dress sizes and the importance over being size zero/double zero. Most of us would have to literally starve to be that thin.

    @bap- Yeah, she looks really cute! You last statement is so true. Even though not exercising and eating unhealthy stuff is not really an excuse, but we do need to appreciate ourselves for what we are. 🙂

  4. bhaynkar…but basically m lost with numbers…

    whatever this blog is certainly out of league..gr8 that i bumped here..well not becaue of the frankness but the way u have put humour ..will b back.. 🙂

  5. bApHoMEt says:

    @Ruhi: I don’t exercise and I eat tonnes of good food. But I look good. Mummy tells me thats because I have the heart of an angel.

    Seriously, it’s all just a perception anyway. The definition of beauty changes almost on a daily basis. The classic definition of beauty with ample hips and ample bossoms basically mean a fat woman these days with huge thighs. Thus, if a beautiful me today will be considered an ugly me tomorrow, why even bother with it?

    p.s. and unhealthy food tastes so good Ruhi. How can you tell people not to eat it? 😉

  6. @lallopallo:

    Thin is not cool for you? Great to know that! I always felt that Indian men prefer curvier women. 😛

    @Dream Catcher, Thanks for your comment and welcome to my blog. 🙂 I’ve explained what those numbers mean in the comments section. I forgot that not everyone would be aware of those dress sizes.

    @Bap- //Mummy tells me thats because I have the heart of an angel.

    LOL. That’s funny. 🙂 People in the South like women with “ample hips and ample bossoms” from what I’ve seen…and people in the North prefer slender women. Even in the same country, the definition of beauty varies so much. Men should be able to deal with this double standard-ness too. Not fair that only women go through this scrutiny.

    Yes, unhealthy food tastes yummy! I know! I’ve developed a sweet tooth and put on at least 15 lbs in the last two years. Everything is so sweet in the US. I’m a little sick of it, to tell you the truth. 😦

  7. If this applies to men…. imagine JLH’s words being taken to heart by everyone. You’d see your boss in a bikini, your teacher in a bikini, your boyfriend in a bikini [I’m still talking about males], you’re classmates in a bikini, your blogmate’s in a bikini…… No I’d rather have that apply only to women! 😛

    I’m working on being a sumo wrestler so I guess I’m going good. Especially with all the exercise and looking the same. Japan here I come! 😛

  8. Actually some people are naturally thin and lean, but while they do not have cellulite I think they don’t have firm bodies. It’s a firm body that we need to aspire to!

  9. @Ashish:

    No we wouldn’t see these people in bikinis because Hewitt’s comment applies only to women (humans with assets). 🙂

    @Nita, Agree with you 🙂 Like Shefaly reminded us, we need to exercise for that.

  10. Ruhi:

    “I don’t like the way the world is going crazy over dress sizes and the importance over being size zero/double zero. Most of us would have to literally starve to be that thin.”

    One could argue if media shapes society or if media reflects society. After all we are referencing media attitudes to body sizing and shapes when we say what you say about size zero etc., aren’t we?

    Body anxiety is a very personal and highly individually manifest issue. I am petite and do not really gain weight if I stop exercising but as Nita says I notice loss of muscle tone within 2-3 months. I have no body anxiety. I exercise for the simple reasons of fitness, balance, flexibility, strength and tone. However a few weeks ago, in an IT industry women event, within 5 seconds, two women who had never met before were discussing body issues. I was amused – no longer surprised after spending years researching weight issues. I was observing that none passed up a chance at mindless gobbling of canapes and filled their wine glasses a few times. Isn’t this what we call the knowing-doing gap?

    That was my reason for bringing up exercise and food… 🙂

    And as for whether you hear less about Brad/ Tom etc, well I suggest a read of UK’s tabloids or a purchase of a rather cheap looking publication called the Enquirer or is it National Enquirer in the US.. I was curious and was wasting time at the Amtrak station in New Haven, CT once and looked through it and laughed so hard that the shopkeeper came and stood next to me, staring.

    As I said: you live by the sword, you die by the sword.

    Too bad life is like that!

  11. dontdatethatdude says:

    This is such a heated topic. I am not sure if you are aware there is a whole movement called, “fat acceptance”. Such sites as: http://kateharding.net and fatso.com are basically saying what you said about eating right and exercising, but also not everyone no matter what they do will be a size 6 or a size 12 or a size 16. People come in all shapes and sizes. I also agree that media teaches women to aspire to something most never will and it creates self loathing when it cannot be achieved. I enjoyed this post very much. Thank you!

  12. DDTD: You will probably find this interesting. The American organisation NAAFA has existed since 1969. That was a few years before the Fat Liberation Manifesto was published by feminists. However I patently believe fat is not just a feminist issue although women are overwhelmingly affected by the media imagery of thin bodies. Joan Brumberg Jacobs Body Project will also be interesting I think.. 🙂

  13. zblacktulip says:

    i wear hijab, so you would think something like this wouldn’t affect someone like me, who is covering their whole body, but it does. and not only in gatherings where i take off hijab, but outside when i am wearing it. even though i wear loose fitting clothes too, i’m always worried that it might seem like i’m very fat under my hijab, and i am a bit chubby, but i’m definitely not fat. its on my mind alot when i go out, but i don’t really do much to change my body. and even when i do, i don’t really look much skinnier. so i’m one of those people who will always have a little extra fat. and sometimes it gets to me that the guy i love might not like me because of that. even though i’m supposed to be t hinking oh he has to love me for my soul – he will love me for that, but then sometimes things like this can be put offs. at least thats what i think.
    PS she’s a size six? i think i have less legs than her and i’m a size 8. how does that work? :S
    maybe cuz i don’t put on skin tight clothes. oh well, i love your sight, and i like this topic that you touched.

  14. @Shefaly:

    //I was observing that none passed up a chance at mindless gobbling of canapes and filled their wine glasses a few times. Isn’t this what we call the knowing-doing gap?

    Yeah! It’s quite funny when people try to tell me that beer drinking during weekends is fine and everyone does it. 🙂

    I did pay heed to your advice and pick up an OK! Magazine today while doing some grocery shopping. It had stories on Brangelina, Britney Spears, Jennifer-Vince etc! We do hear stories about Brad/Tom, but never without their other halves 😉

    @DDTD, thank you for stopping by 🙂 Indeed, everyone’s body is different and there is no point killing yourself over it. You need to be happy mentally, and try to eat the right food and exercise well. I didn’t know about those websites; thanks for letting me know about it. 🙂

    @Shefaly, Women are indeed affected more than men when it comes to body image. How many women would be happy with a belly? 🙂 Health’s definitely your forte; I wouldn’t dare dismiss your points on this stuff, not that I disagree with you in the first place. Thanks for sharing that piece of information.

  15. @zblacktulip:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by. It’s not just you,, even I have trouble trying to stay in shape. I keep fluctuating all the time 🙂 Well, if a guy doesn’t love you the way you are, then you shouldn’t really be with him! That’s how I feel. Nobody has a right to make you feel horrible about yourself. 🙂 You’ll definitely find someone who loves you just the way you are, without trying to make any major changes in you.

    She’s not a size 6. She’s size 2!!! I’m size 6 😛

  16. @ Ruhi:

    Thanks.

    “It’s not just you,, even I have trouble trying to stay in shape. I keep fluctuating all the time”

    On this I would just add that steady weight, even if a few pounds more than ideal, is vastly better than weight-cycling i.e. weight loss and weight gain cycles.

    And on clothes sizing: well the numbers do not mean anything really. Not when they are being dynamically re-defined.

    When I first visited the US, many years ago, I was a size 4P, which after the rounds of ‘vanity resizing’ in recent years is now size 2P. Meanwhile I have not lost weight and in fact because I am older and have exercised, my body shape is totally different. There is also no uniformity between brands – so my regular clothes in the US fit differently at the same size than my EMS sporting clothes.

    Read here about anthropometric numbers – and laugh! – about the absurdity of it all:
    http://www.tc2.com/what/sizeusa/index.html

    Body awareness is good; body consciousness is useless. If more women understand the marketing shit behind all this and remain cognitive enough, they will not have to suffer so much. And they can remain happier without swinging the pendulum the other way i.e. the fat feminist message which totally ignores the underlying health issues with weight cycling and weight gain…

  17. @Shefaly:

    //On this I would just add that steady weight, even if a few pounds more than ideal, is vastly better than weight-cycling i.e. weight loss and weight gain cycles.

    That gives me some relief. I don’t have a problem of weight cycling. I stay pretty constant. It’s just that if I do want to lose a few pounds, then I find it difficult to motivate myself.

    I agree with you on the dress size issue here. It keeps changing all the time. I actually don’t know my correct dress size. I shop for pants in the kids section, believe it or not. I’m too short. Even if I want to buy a dress online, I can’t do it because I’m not sure if the size is correct. Plus, it varies a lot depending upon the material of the garment.

    @zblacktulip, I posted two links earlier in the comments section. You can take a look at that.

    @DDTD, You need to thank Shefaly. 🙂

  18. dear ruhi,

    that was a nice post and i was inspired to write on this topic on my blog with some additional points about the two psychological eating-disorders. you may kindly read the post n comment on it at:

    “Women’s Obsession with Body Image”

    Ruhi: I edited your comment to remove the link to your blog, because it’s already embedded in your nickname. 🙂 Blogger doesn’t let non-Blogger leave our URL anymore. Will take a look at your post. Thanks 🙂

  19. Pingback: Women’s Obsession with Body Image « EMPOWERING ALL

Leave a Reply

