Entertainment, General ramblings, Movies, Thoughts

A Short Commentary on Y Tu Mama Tambien

Alfonso Cuaron has created a masterpiece in the form of Y Tu Mama Tambien (Trailer: Click here) and I don’t hesitate to call it so. I’d been a long time since I’ve watched a movie of this sort and I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the road trip that I took along with the main characters. One of the prime reasons why I wanted to watch this movie was because I have seen Gael Garcia Bernal before in The Motorcycle Diaries and Amores Perros and his acting is par brilliance. Without any doubt, this movie is a must watch for all his fans. This is the first time I’ve seen Diego Luna and Maribel Verdu and I look forward to seeing more of their work.

For me, more than anything else, this movie is about the fascinating turns that the friendship of two boys take, due to undiscovered, adolescent secrets. Just like other boys of their age, Tenoch and Julio have over-active sexual hormones and are fascinated by older women. They meet Tenoch’s cousin’s wife, Luisa, at a wedding and invite her for a road trip. Lady luck is at their side, because Luisa’s husband and Tenoch’s cousin, Jano, has just cheated on her again and she decides to leave him for good. Luisa takes up Tenoch’s and Julio’s offer and the trio set out for a beach called “Heaven’s Mouth”, which is only a figment of their imagination.

More than anything else, Luisa goes on the road trip to taste real freedom and the boys go just for her. There are lots of raunchy scenes and steamy dialogues. I would categorize this movie as a sex comedy, very tastefully and erotically done. This movie explores the friendship between two boys, and more than that, their coming to terms with their teenage sexual desires and mysteries.

One of my favorite scenes in this movie is when Julio, overwhelmed by the fact that his friend let him win a swimming race for once, admits to Tenoch that he had, only once, slept with Ana, Tenoch’s girlfriend. Even though this was his way of “returning” the favor, things don’t really turn out the way he would have imagined and Tenoch, unimpressed by this revelation, stomps off. Later on, after both of them reveal their (more than one) sexual adventures with each other’s girlfriends, Julio tells Tenoch- “Y Tu Mama Tambien!”…meaning, “: “And [I f*cked] your mother, too!” That one definitely stole the cake for me.

Julio’s reference to his sister being a “cool Left-ist chick” was another amazing touch, me thinks.

The director has also explored deeper stories tied to different people and places with the help of intermittent commentary, which goes extremely well with the entire make of the movie.

This movie is very different from other teenage movies that only show 18 year olds attending Sophomore parties and meeting girls in pubs. In fact, I wouldn’t even label it as a “summer teenage movie”, even though many newspapers have, because the treatment is so veritable and the characters are extremely candid and genuine. For once, you’ll really enjoy the lampoonery of the main characters.

Rating: 10/10

Standard

24 thoughts on “A Short Commentary on Y Tu Mama Tambien

  1. i too watched this movie two days before…..
    i was expecting smething like a ‘childern men’ here…
    u can imagine…how bloody wrong i was…..

    again, frankly speaking…the first time i felt a bit allergic..
    i was not sure…abt wat i was seeing…

    the movie which started of on a comic track…turns out to be one hell of a serious cinema….

    one thing,alfonso cauron is one genius…..and his cinema ‘yu tu ma tambian’ is a widely misunderstood master piece…

    as for me…i got to see it once again…
    🙂

    by the way, u sounds damn cool with your movie reviews…

  2. @Arjun

    I know why you might have felt a little “allergic”; many of the scenes are quite graphic.

    I really enjoyed the twists and turns that the story line took. Somehow, I was expecting Luisa’s death- because the narrator says that Luisa wondered how long people would remember her after her death and also, in the second last scene, when she bids goodbye to Tenoch and Julio.

    I’ve seen this movie twice already. 🙂

    @Balu

    Great! Enjoy the movie 🙂 Hope you like it.

    @Lallo

    You’re welcome.:) But be warned that there is a lots of nudity and naked dialogues.

  3. Lallo- I think the lady won’t even look at you again if you select this movie on a first date. A had a small get together at my place a couple of days back, and I started this movie and went to work in the kitchen. I didn’t even know about the racy scenes. LOL. People started squirming in their seats. It was quite a scene! 😉

  4. Ya..I got a similar warning from my friend.. he wa like — “You are not planning to watch it with your family right?”

    I wasn’t planning to of course.. I figured the nudity part from the review… I just like he actor.. he s too good!

  5. haha….really…i can imagine that get together scene…
    😉

    not only for the racy scenes, but when all the three characters laughs hard after julio tells tenoch: “yu tu ma tambian”…for me,it is a bit hard to digest the idea of a joke there…. may be because i belong to another pert the world….but i understand that is not a mistake of the movie…

    also, i really admired the mov this second time (can’t say i loved it though…admired is the word)
    the 3rd person narration is just wonderful….with short commentaries over diff aspects of mexican society was really intellegent…
    cinematography, acting….everything excells..

    so…that is it… 🙂

  6. Balu- Yes, Gael Garcia is indeed brilliant. He’s amazing in this movie too. You need to watch this ASAP.

    Arjun- Well…I can understand what you mean. Even I found it to be a little crazy, but that may be because of our cultural background. It’s not so uncommon in the West. Even I really liked the commentary that was being given by the narrator. In some shots, the screen also freezes for a second or two. That was a very nice touch.

  7. The movie seems interesting. I hope there is a torrent with subtitles for this one because I am flat broke. I guess I will queue it up right after Hazaaron Khwaishein Aisi which is poorly seeded and as such is being a real pain in the derrier.

  8. Bharat- I don’t know about torrent files, else I would have let you know. But I think lots of movies are available online (illegal, of course) if you run a search at http://ovguide.com. Free streaming and download. I don’t really use it because I prefer to rent DVDs, but the quality is quite good, from what I’ve seen.

  9. Ruhi…main kya do din ethar aaya nahi,u have flooded ur blog with posts…haven’t seen the movie yet….its standing next on my list to get raped by me and my review…

  10. have u seen a movie called “bad education”..directed by pablo almodovar and this dude “gael garcia bernal” is the hero…try seeing it if u haven’t yet….

  11. Rohan- You won’t believe this, but I added this movie to my Queue just before I read your comment. 🙂 It’s next on my list after Ronin (check the Netflix RSS in the sidebar). Will write a review when I’m done watching it.

  12. ya ruhi saw ur netflix queue….give me ur opinion abt that movie…

    u dont dwnld movies…

    check http://www.mininova.org
    if this site was not there,i must have gone bankrupt….eventhen i spent lot of money on dvds…well seeded torrents gives a complete movie in a maximum of 2.5hrs

  13. rohan- all right 🙂 will take a look. thanks a lot. I prefer online streaming to downloading movies and stuff…never used torrents before. 😦

  14. @ Rohan:

    Great! 🙂 I’m watching Ronin tonight (finally!). I want to watch Atonement ASAP, esp. after all the Oscar nominations that it has received.

    Cinephile- Oh yes, I did. I should have watched it earlier.

  15. aaaaaaarrrrgggghhhh.. the DVD s screwed up… I liked the movie for the narration style… I missed the last twenty min (screwed u DVD) so I don’t know how the movie ends sob sob….

    PS: It was an overdose of sex! didn’t expect so much

  16. I think Julio told Tenoch about sleeping with Ana because he was overwhelmed by seeing him having sex with Luisa. Much in the same way that Tenoch admitted to having slept with Julio’s girlfriend after Julio and Luisa have sex in the car.

    Gael Garcia Bernal is indeed brilliant. I am downloading Amores Perros and The Motorcycle Diaries. The Motorcycle Diaries is all the more special because it’s about Che Guevara

    Ruhi: I think so too. They much such ‘confessions’ at the heat of the moment. You could clearly see in Tenoch’s face that he was lying. You won’t be disappointed with Amores Perros and The Motorcycle Diaries either. I can guarantee that to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

