Cartoons, comics, CSS, E-books, E-mail, Facebook, General ramblings, GMail, Google, greasemonkey, Life, Microsoft, Mozilla Firefox, Programming, social bookmarking, Social Networking, Software, Technology, Themes, Thoughts, Tumblr, Web 2.0, Web designing, Windows Vista, Wordpress, yahoo

What’s in my Laptop?

Amit Agarwal from Labnol recently posted a link to Gina’s article, where she’s listed all the programs that are currently installed in her computer. I have seen many other bloggers prepare such lists too. I spend so much of my time every day, tinkering around with various applications, but have never given them any credit on my blog. So this post is a tribute to all these lovely creatures who improve my browsing experience every single day. It might help you get some ideas or discover some new tools too.

My primary Laptop: Compaq Presario V2000 with Windows XP Operating System

Secondary Laptop: HP Pavilion dv2000 with Windows Vista Operating System

My desire is to own a tablet PC made by Apple. I’ll buy it as soon as it’s released. 🙂 I also fester desires of learning how to install a fully functioning Linux OS someday!

Browsers: The social browser Flock– Amazing browser for people who are avid bloggers and social networkers on sites like Twitter, Facebook, Youtube, Flickr etc. Check out my review here.

Mozilla Firefox version 3 beta 2– Just downloaded it yesterday and I’m in love with their new location bar feature, that pulls out page titles and addresses in two different lines and colors, from your recent browser history and bookmarks!

Here’s a screen shot from the Official Website:

Add-ons and Extensions:

Shareaholic– An extension that lets you submit a page to countless number of social networking sites such as Digg, Delicious, Stumbleupon, Google Bookmarks, Friendfeed, Facebook etc. You can customize the drop down menu to include only those bookmarking sites that you use. You can also email the page you’re viewing. Here’s a screen shot (notice the green button with a drop down list only):

Screenshot: This Flock extension allows you to save webpages (entire, visible portion, selection) and windows (eg. browser, blog, uploader) as .png or .jpeg images. You can save these images to your file system, the clipboard or even send them straight to the photo uploader.

Cocomments: This extension helps me track every single comment that I’ve left on any sort of web page- Be it a website, blog or a channel like Youtube. I get notifications in my browser (in the shape of a small envelope) if there’s a reply to my comment. I find this to be really helpful because the “My Comments” tab at WP.com is very slow and it only shows a certain number of recent conversations. Plus, there’s no other way that I can track my comments left on non-WP.com blogs. All you’ve got to do is install the extension and it takes care of everything!

Here’s a screen shot:

Greasemonkey: What in the world would I Do without this add on? 🙂 This is the best thing about Firefox and Flock. Too bad that Internet Explorer people have to suffer! Currently, I’m using the following scripts:

LookitUp2– Quickly look something up in wikipedia, a dictionary or whatever you like (its easy to add custom sites!). The result is displayed directly on the page.

TextareaBackup– Retains text entered in text areas

WordPress Comment Ninja- Respond to comments directly by post and/or email from inside your WordPress dashboard. For WordPress bloggers.

Comment Pre-fill– Fillout comment form fields with a single keyboard shortcut!

Greased Lightbox (v0.15)– Enhances browsing on websites that link to images such as Google Image Search, Flickr, Wikipedia, Facebook, MySpace, and deviantART

Userscripts.org Rank By Popularity– When browsing scripts on userscripts.org it will change the icon on the left to show how popular a script is. Very useful for focusing on the best scripts.

Mailto 2 Webmail– Open those “mailto:” links in your GMail, Yahoo, AOL etc. email accounts instead of the default Outlook Express.

Yahoo Pipe Cleaner– Removes most of the HTML markup from Yahoo Pipe run output so that it can be cut-and-pasted into WordPress blogs.

Out of these, my absolute favorite is the WordPress Comment Ninja and the Greased Lightbox (when I’m looking at images and want to see the expanded version, all I do is click on the picture and it zooms out. No need to open another link! Cool, isn’t it? 🙂

You can also check out this and this, where I’ve prepared a list for other scripts that are very useful.

GoogleDocs Extension: Great stuff for all you Google Fans out there. 🙂 From the official website:

With gDocsBar, you can drag and drop multiple files into the sidebar to upload documents. You can search and filter documents right from the sidebar. Your Gmail credentials are sent to Google directly over SSL. Your passwords are stored in Firefox Password Manager.

Software Applications:

Pidgin– Log into all chat clients and receive new email notifications and lots of other features.

WinRAR– For opening zipped files

DietMP3– compress your MP3 files

TextPad– Works great for CSS/HTML coding etc.

CDisplay– For reading e-comics

Irfanview– Resizes your images and lots of other capabilities

Apart from this, there’s the usual crap that’s worth not mentioning. I prefer to keep the number of applications running at the minimum and have a fetish for keeping my hard disk neat and tidy.

Some other junk that I found over the internet:

Ten Quickfixes to Make Your Windows Computer Run Faster 

DownloadmyLink– Free Megashare/Rapidshare file downloader…no need to wait for 60+ minutes or reset your internet connection.

Senduit: Easily share you files- very clean UI

Instapaper: Bookmark those articles that you want to “Read Later” and might not be “Delicious”.

Social Bookmarks:
Standard

28 thoughts on “What’s in my Laptop?

  1. hiiiiiiiii internet geeeeeek !!!!! and I am impressed with your effort on putting almost all possible tags on each post 😉 I seldom do on mine coz i am laziest 😉

  2. Thanks for this. I have installed lookitup. However I see no change in my pc, I guess it will happen after I restart.
    I had downloaded the ninja script but now deleted it because it was slowing the loading of my comments page. actually i have a slow internet connection.

  3. Neat post, I actually found the 4 links at the end much more useful! Especially the 10 fixes to make your computer run faster, that’s an excellent article.

    I don’t use Greasemonkey anymore because it makes my Firefox reaaaaally slow, it takes millions of years to load up. Also I get these “Unresponsive Script” errors constantly, any idea what could be causing it? It causes the browser to freeze for a minute and then an error comes up and when I click on “Continue script”, everything is fine. Ever faced that problem? I’ve faced it on every version of Firefox I’ve used.

  4. @Dinsan

    Thank you 🙂 You need to put in those tags- Really helps your visitors. Lots of people click on my tags and read posts. Also, you are no less of an internet junkie and you should be doing a similar post on your blog. What say?

    @Nita

    For making LookitUp work, you need to do some settings or follow the instructions on the official userscript page (Link in my post). 🙂 You will have to highlight the word you want to look up and then press some keys (which have been explained in the userscript.org page for this script).

    Yes, and it’s difficult to get Ninja to work on a slow connection- perfectly understandable.

    @Ish

    Great! Good to know that you found some help. Btw, Senduit has also been developed by the founders of Tumblr. Don’t beat me up. I think greasemonkey freezes up on your browser either because your net is slow or because you already have a lot of add ons/extensions. Is it so?

    And yes, I changed the theme. I really liked the previous one- but the sidebar was all screwed up because of the Large Caps. I got an email from some reader who said that the sidebar looked quite disorganized. However, I need to expand the size of the comment box. And my welcome message thing is not working. Have to ask Cat how to fix that.

  5. I loaded the comment pre-fill too. However I am already signed in here!
    and thanks for letting me know about the details of the other script! I can be really dumb about these things. I love that script!

  6. @ Ruhi……

    I should think about posting something 😉 hey how come you dont have time for self hosted blog ? you are doing so much of y working on your design and new design looks good 🙂 but the best part is it loads faster than the told one.. I liked this comments part a lot 🙂 interested in playing with css on my blog ? 🙂

  7. And yea, to post about whats in my laptop, I bought my laptop only 3 days back !!! I was blogging from my office PCs all this time…… I am yet to get my net connection for laptop .. that was the thing i said when you asked why loong plans for watching movies .. u remember ? hihhi.. as of now.. I have only few things installed on it.. and I am yet to finish the installation of my fav software… photoshop… 🙂 Another thing is I dont like filling comps with all the softwares 😉

  8. @ Nita:

    Make sure you configure comment pre-fill too, else it won’t work.(Read the instructions in the userscript.org page).

    Good to know that you liked the other script. I thought that I’m the only internet junkie around here, but you really surprise me. 🙂

    @Dinsan

    I’m not doing much work for this blog. All I do is copy and paste ready made CSS here, with some personal tweaks. It hardly takes me 10 minutes to change a theme, now that I have the basic code that I add to each CSS. About your blog, if you have a problem, let me know. I’ll try to solve it, though I’m no expert. Btw, this new design has 6 colors and it changes depending upon my time. So keep coming back to see the changes 😉

    Congrats on getting a new laptop! Post the screen shots and features. And I do remember the movie bit. How can I forget anything related to movies?! Oh, and I didn’t know that you like Photoshop so much? Now you have to help me. 😆

  9. @ Ruhi… sure I will be glad to help you 🙂
    http://www.tech2.com/india/reviews/value-laptops/acer-aspire-4520/18211/0
    this is the one I bought let me know if you liked it 🙂
    About css, copy pasting it on wordpress.com might work.. I am not sure, but when I am working with other themes on self hosted it may create problems since there r different tweaks by theme designers.. still next thing I am going to play with is css, .. ads are almost settled 😉

  10. @ dinsan:

    Bery bery nice laptop Dinsan. 🙂 I love AMD processors. And it also has Linux OS pre-installed? wow..that’s great man. Don’t make the mistake of installing Vista on it. It has an amazing configuration and really reasonable. I would give it 8.75/10. The only thing I didn’t see was Wifi compatibility…does it have that?

    Self-hosted: Of course, you need to extract and install it. Plus, you need to tweak it for ads. It’s best to use themes that are ready made for ad placements. Your current theme is lovely and don’t change it. Very difficult to find such a pretty (and clean) theme.

  11. Nope, I’m not having many addons. I’m using the ones which you are using. The only additional one is maybe the Developer Toolbar but this Unresponsive Script error has been coming from before I installed that. My net isn’t slow either.

    I have disabled Greasemonkey but not even doing that helped me. It’s getting annoying now. I checked their website but I still don’t know what to do.

  12. @Ish

    A couple of weeks back, once or twice, even I got that unresponsive script message. Then I disabled Cocomments and the message stopped. It is possible that cocomments is the guilty party here and not greasemonkey.

    Plus, it helps if you stop using Firefox for sometime and use Flock instead. I keep switching between the two for better performance…dunno if it makes any sense, but it really helps me. But try to disable cocomments and see if you still have the same problem. If yes, then re-install Firefox.

  13. I used to think it was CoComments too and I had uninstalled it earlier. Turns out it isn’t. I’ve turned off the Web Developer toolbar now, lets see if things work.

  14. @ ish:

    Hmmm…that’s really weird. You said that you uninstalled Greasemonkey earlier and it didn’t help. The only option left is to re-install everything. 😦 Start using Flock for some time. Firefox will come back to her sense if she realizes that you left her temporarily. 😉

    Btw, you should give the new beta version a try. It’s freakin’ awesome.

    @Dinsan

    I’m surprised you didn’t make any comment on the GoogleDocsToolbar extension for Firefox.

  15. @ Ruhi

    Thank you thank you.. Linux was only basic stuff I think.. my girl bought it from Blore..actually.. since i had some EMI issues here in Kerala.. so she got someone to install xp on it.. I will install linux on it.. i been using linux for almost everything for the past 3 years now.. so I should have it on my laptop too 🙂

    Theme, yes, I am not planning to change it very soon, but I would love to play with it.. I will install a test blog and try it there 😉 what u think.. can give u login to play with css if you want 😉

  16. @Ruhi !
    wow !!! (tags)
    wow wow (post)

    @Dinsan,
    Acer looks good, but then almost all its budget laptops have the white keyboard !!! Do we have a black one of 4520…

  17. @Dinsan

    Wow..great! So now you are a Linux champ too, huh? 🙂 Sure, feel free to send me your login to tweak with the CSS. I’m not sure how fast my turnaround will be though, but I’ll try.

    P.S- Did you read my earlier comment regarding the GoogleDocs Extention for FF?

    @Xylene, Thanks.

    @Carrot, Don’t worry…you’ll have one soon. 🙂 Let your parents know about your amazing blog and convince them that you really need a laptop now.

    @Bipin

    I know about Scrapbook. Something like the inbuilt web clipboard of Flock, right? 🙂 Thanks for the tips. I’ll take a look at the toolbar too. But really…do we need a phishing toolbar? I’ve never really faced a problem.

  18. Actually, it isn’t really a *necessity*, but it’s definitely good to have. Personally, I am not a big fan of toolbars. They irritate me, to be honest. But the amount of growth I have seen, accompanied by the sophistication of attacks, I believe it’s worth it.
    Recently, Swen discovered a Google Phish. Fortunately, the portal was amateurish, plus Swenny is smart enough to identify the problem… and was hence safe.
    To summarize, a little bit of carefulness and a lot of awareness could keep us safe, but as we all know, carefulness is a feature that depend upon factors like convenience, laziness, ignorance, even faith… and can ditch you anytime.

    (I can’t blame my paranoia, can I? It’s my job after all 😉 )

  19. @ Bipin 3~ Upadhyay:

    Till now, IE and FF have done a good job of warning against phishing websites. Plus, thankfully, most of them quite easy to recognize. I dislike toolbars so much, I can’t even tell you. 🙂 So I won’t install it, even at the cost of being careless.

    @Dinsan

    Guess post on what? GoogleDocs toolbar? I gave all the information in my post.

  20. Gee, thanks Ruhi for this post. I’ve been using GreaseMonkey for quite some times now. I used it main for Blog*Spot especially the script for trackback. As you know, Blog*Spot don’t have trackback capability, but reading your post, I’ve installed quite a few other UserScripts.

    See you around Ruhi. Greetings and lots of love from Malaysia.

  21. Pingback: The Media Guru

  22. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyhow, awesome site!

Leave a Reply

