Blogging, Books, General ramblings, Life, literature, Thoughts

Untitled

nikhilkumar.jpg

Nikhil sent me a copy of his first book, Untitled, by mail. He blogs here at WordPress. He’s an MS student at SUNY Buffalo and will be starting his PhD in Genetics, Cell Biology and Anatomy this Fall, 2008 at the University of Nebraska. Oh, and he’s also an avid chess player and I wouldn’t want to play with him again. I lost to him miserably the last time we played chess. 🙂

I’ve been able to read only two short stories till now. So far, I’m really liking it. According to me, the book dwells on different facets on love. Nikhil proves the fact that a writer doesn’t need to be old or experienced to take the reader on an emotional roller coaster. I’ll try to write a detailed review once I’m done reading it.

“If Love comes to you and says, “I hate you,” you feel sad; but when Hate comes up to you and says, “I Love You”, you start to think whether you are a sadist…”

-Nikhil Kumar

I wish him luck for his PhD program and success for his soon to be released, second novel, which I’ve had the pleasure of reading. 🙂

Standard

7 thoughts on “Untitled

  1. “If Love comes to you and says, “I hate you,” you feel sad; but when Hate comes up to you and says, “I Love You”, you start to think whether you are a sadist…”

    Woww.. Awesome!

  2. “If Love comes to you and says, “I hate you,” you feel sad; but when Hate comes up to you and says, “I Love You”, you start to think whether you are a sadist…”

    hmmm I liked that one 🙂

  3. @ Ruhi:

    Sounding a bit like Amazon, I would say if you like this book – and your description of it is accurate – then you may also enjoy Karl Iagnemma’s book “On The Nature of Human Romantic Interaction”. Karl is a robotics researcher at MIT and the book came out some 5 years ago. He writes very drily but the themes are pretty nerdy. Last I heard from him some stories may be being made into a film (or more films)..

  4. I like that line too, pretty innovative. And I’ll like to read what you think about it..well because I don’t know. I just think I will. Best of luck for your PhD, Nikhil!

  5. Arun, Dinsan- Thanking you on Nikhil’s behalf. Probably he hasn’t seen your comments. 🙂

    Shefaly- I’ll take a look. Thanks for the recommendation. Generally, I don’t appreciate the ‘dry style’. Will check out some Amazon reviews.

    Ish- Sure, I’ll write a book review on it, though I doubt it. I’ve been quite unwell since the past couple of days and I plan to reduce my blogging time drastically. 🙂

Leave a Reply

