General ramblings

Random Act of Kindness

I just got gifted $30 by POBox42111 and I hardly know him! In fact, he commented for the first time in my post, Desi Connection, only a week ago. I’m quite surprised and pleased/shocked at the same time. I guess it doesn’t take too much to make someone happy.

That’s a sum total of two random acts of kindness that I came across this year- First, the lady who helped me after my car accident on the freeway and second, POBox42111. I’m amazed how some people like POBox are so big hearted. I know that money is not a big thing, but still, it never occurred to me that it takes so little/much to make someone smile. 🙂 I have a lot to learn.

My mom asked me- What’s his name?

Me: POBox42111

Mom: You mean you don’t know his name?

Me: No!

Dear POBox, I’m sure you are reading this post. I owe you one and I hope you will let me do something for you if you come to this side of the country. I have no doubt that you are not like other desis that I come across here ever so often. 😉 Anyone who tips $7 for a $13 haircut cannot be bad! I’m not going to give you a gift in return because that would mean that I’m trying to settle accounts here. I will hope that sometime, in the future, I’ll be able to put a smile on your face too. I really appreciate your generosity and I’m very bad with words; so this does seem like an awkward post.

Ish, this time, I had an OMGWTF moment. 😀

I’ve used $15 to get myself a personal domain. Still have $15 which I don’t need.

Standard

19 thoughts on “Random Act of Kindness

  1. wow, what a great gift from somebody whose name you don’t even know indeed! 🙂 i’m having my css upgrade for the second year thanks to a blog friend i got to know, and even i feel very grateful for that because i did nothing to deserve it. so what are you going to do with the remaining money? keep it to renew the domain next year or pay it forward? (just a suggestion, i believe in good karma!)

    Didn’t know his name then! 🙂 But know it now. And yes, I did notice that you got another CSS upgrade. It’s so nice to know that there are people who appreciate you! I don’t know what I’m going to do with the remaining money. I might pass it along to someone else- Ruhi

  2. And all this while I was wondering who POBox is. Now I know. And wow, that’s really cool. A really cheesy Hindi line would be, “Kar bhala toh ho bhala”. If you ask me, that was bound to happen. God sends special people for special people like you. Zyada special special toh nahi ho raha na?

    I like the new domain name! Agar theruhii.com hota toh aur bhi better hota. Just kidding. 😛

    Three cheers for you and POBox. Hip Hip! … (Baaki ka baaki log karenge obviously) 😛

    P.S. – Why doesn’t POBox have a blog? If he does, why can’t I find it?

    P.P.S. – Why am I being so lame?

    P.P.P.S. – Maybe it’s because I’m posting this comment at 5:20 AM?

    P.P.P.P.S. – I wonder why I’m not going to sleep.

    P.P.P.P.P.S. – Okay, I’m gonna go sleep. G’night.

    P.P.P.P.P.P.S. – Tum bore to nahi hui na? Thenks. 😛

    No, that line is not cheesy at all. It’s quite true actually. “Upar wala jab bhi deta, deta chappar phad ke”- something like that has been happening since the past one week. 🙂 Will email and tell you. And no, I’m not getting too special. There’s always room for more. And I saw this “P.S “P.P.S” nautanki in Amit’s blog too. 😛 Your new found fascination. He made a dummy blog, but I don’t know if he is going to blog. He’s a very busy guy and all. And you’re always lame. Sardarjis don’t need any time 😀 Just joking. Dil par mat le yaar. Tum gussa toh nahi hue na? Thenks. 😛

  3. pobox42111 says:

    Ruhi – You don’t owe me anything! Just keep on blogging and we’re even! And you should keep the rest to renew the domain imho.

    Ish – I don’t have a blog because I am “teh suck” when it comes to writing.

    We’ll see! You need to start a blog and then I’ll gift you back the remaining amount 😛 – Ruhi

  4. Hey,

    Thats sounds good… may be you should try to send him a mail ? hmm whats your new domain name ? r u going to use it on wordpress.com ?

    Ps: first comment with my new domain name 😉 will need lot of feedback guys ..

  5. Oh no.. I dint check the domain name here… well ruhii.com .. sounds good 🙂 wish u more success with this one 🙂

    Hey thank dinu 🙂 Welcome to my blog. And good luck with your new one. Will visit it soon- Ruhi

  6. Somehow, this quote came in to my mind from Batman Begins(2005)

    *
    Jim Gordon: I never said, “Thank you.”
    Batman: And you’ll never have to.

    looks like POB is the Batman :mrgreen:

    Best of luck with your new domain name…., now we have to remember the new name.

    Haha…I love that dialogue man! 😀 And yes, you better remember my new domain name.- Ruhi

  7. $15 that you don’t want? Awesome….looks like ur gud karma is comin back 2 u..

    Yep! Looks like it 🙂 Nice of him to do that, really- Ruhi

  8. Ahem… you know I would’ve also mentioned the domain name in the post too. 😛 [Ruhii sounds good… but you’re turning into Ekkta Kkapoor.] 😛 Hey maybe you could make the first Saas-bahu theme for wordpress! 😛

    Continuing from Master Ishmeet…

    Hurray! Hurray! 😀

    POBox42111 – No problem if you’re “teh suck”. I mean I’m “teh greatest suck” but still I force everyone to read my blog. Try toh karo! 🙂

    Haha…actually I was debating this ruhii.com thing. I know it sounds like Ekkta Kapoor’s serial names. But ruhi.com/.net/.org were already taken. 😦 I have timeandagainblog.com, but I didn’t want to use it. I wanted something short and sweet. And no, I’m not using any saas-bahu theme. Thank you very much for your kind suggestion! 😐 – Ruhi

  9. 😐 Forgot to say “Congratulations!” 😀

    Uffo! You don’t have to say it explicitly. 😛 I know how pissed off you’d gotten when I hadn’t wished you explicitly.- Ruhi

  10. Sometimes the little things are what speak the loudest…and last the longest. 🙂

    You’re right. 🙂 It reinforces my belief that random acts of kindness mean so much, because you don’t expect them! – Ruhi

  11. Hey thats great. And congrats for the Domain name. Ruhiiiiiiiiiii Eh??? 🙂 Did you consult an astrologer or this is the Ekta Kapoor syndrome?? On second thoughts, Its definitely not EK syndrome, because then the domain name would have been KKRUHII.COM
    And POBOX, whoever you are, you are cool.

    Hehe..I swear after resting my hand on Ekkta Kapoor’s serial’s script that I didn’t consult Suneeta Menon! It was my invention. 😛 Now I’m going to be famous too and I’ll have lots of visitors here. KKRuhii.com reminds me of K.K..K…Kiran. Heh. How silly! – Ruhi

  12. uh….i would say, your post ‘desi connection’ was a bit provocative to any Indian out there in the states….haha… 🙂
    No wonder in that sense…

    then, how are doing now…?
    it has been quite a while now….

    Probably POBox wanted to prove that he’s not like all the desis out there 😛 And it took him $30 to prove it. Heh..yes, it was quite provocative. I didn’t mean half of the things though. It was written when I was quite mad. I’m doing great! Thanks for asking. Aren’t you blogging these days? I don’t see you around at all.- Ruhi

  13. this is ur second domain , right ???????? 😛
    but y is that extra i in that ruhi word 😛

    Yep! I actually have 4 domain names 😐 Extra ‘i’ in ruhi because ruhi.com/.net/.org were already taken 😦 But these people are saying that I’m turning into Ekta Kapoor. At least it will make me rich and famous!- Ruhi

  14. @Ruhi(Ekkkkkkta KKKaPPooRR): Ekta Ekta Ekta! 😛 Tumhaare ko tang karne mein genuine mazza aata hai. 😛

    I did that P.S. waala nautanki in Amit’s blog too? Mereko laga sabse pehle idhar hi kara. That tells you how out of inspiration I am. Everything points towards that doesn’t it? Comments are getting lamer, posts are nothing except tags. In fact agli waali is also gonna be a tag.

    And yea, I’m all time active waala sardar. Baaki logon ke tarah 12 baje on nahi hota main. 😛 And bolne ke baad apologize mat kara karo yaar, tumhaare ko pata hai main bura nahi maanta. And especially from you toh kuch bhi chalta hai.

    And send me that e-mail you were talking about. Sounds like sab kuch achcha ho raha hai which is good. Mogambo khush hua, thenks. 😛

    @POBox: Ah, but yea, I agree with everyone else. Try writing if you find the time. You never know how good/bad you are. And anyway, there are no set rules in blogging. So kya farak padta hai.

  15. @ ish:

    Eeessh! At least don’t call me Ekta. Call me “Ruhii ruhii ruhii”. Yes, you did P.S wali nautanki in Amit’s blog too. And I did realize that all your recent posts have just been tags and stuff. 😛 But it’s all right…it’s your blog. You can do whatever you want!

    And especially from you toh kuch bhi chalta hai.

    I shall keep that in mind ^-^ I shall try something crazier the next time. Yep, will email you about it. Things are getting better for sure. 🙂

  16. Uffo! You don’t have to say it explicitly. 😛 I know how pissed off you’d gotten when I hadn’t wished you explicitly.- Ruhi
    I’m trying to set an example. 😛

    ish, Amit: Stop stealing my lines dudes. 😛

Leave a Reply

