General ramblings

Don’t use Globat.com

I had registered for Timeandagainblog.com through globat.com this January, 2008. I never received any renewal notice from them. I did receive an email two days back, informing me that my credit card has been charged $14.95 for the renewal of my domain. My domain was supposed to expire on January 4th, 2009. Well…there is a slight problem. I didn’t plan to renew this domain because I don’t need it anymore. I have been fighting with them since 3 days. I told them that I shouldn’t be paying for the renewal because I never received any notice. 😦 3 days, lots of wasted hours…and my money’s still with them. I’m going to file a dispute claim through my credit card company, Chase.

My Custom CSS upgrade expires on 12-28-2008 and I don’t plan to renew it. Why? Lots of reasons.

1. I’m not using WordPress.com much- I’m bored of the blogging community here. WP.com is not as flexible as Tumblr. I feel forced into writing long posts. I don’t feel like I have the freedom of expressing myself here anymore. It’s just not the same. With the amount of time I have these days, I am not sure if I want to go through so much of hassle. Posting/commenting on Tumblr/Twitter is far easier.

2. Because of #1, I’m not sure $15/year is justified. It’s not much at all. But only playing around with CSS is not enough. I want to muck around with the HTML too. 😐 I’m a curious soul.

3. I still think domain mapping should be free of charge. Yeah yeah yeah…might be a WordPress business model. But WTF- I don’t think I should be paying for it. They make a lot of money anyways!

3. Recession time- I should dress down my blog too. πŸ˜›

4. Globat.com cheated me. And I have to pay for 3 other domains that I own.

Standard

11 thoughts on “Don’t use Globat.com

  1. Oh no! Just when I moved to WordPress, you are now thinking of leaving blogosphere. I do agree though with the simplicity and flexibility of Twitter and Tumblr. The automatic-renewal-of-services-without-informing culture is well known here. Disputing the charges are the only sane solution. I guess cheater’s are looming every where, especially during this time of crisis. Desperation, sadly.

  2. Oh dear..I dont think any one forces us to write long posts. U can write as much as u feel! Its your blog! And this applies to comments too! U can comment where and when u like.

  3. I agree with reema ..
    infact the shorter the posts ..better for us πŸ˜›
    i really cant say about the flexibility of wordpress because i have never used any other site πŸ˜›

    and yes 15 dollars is too much … thats about 750 bucks here …

  4. I paid mine a while back, maybe one month at the same time I got another domain mapping for my blog. I’ll carry on using the domain mapping til eternity probably, as I like ‘carocat.co.uk’ and the ability to simply ‘park’ my blog like I’ve done again the last few months.

    Do I regret getting the CSS upgrade again? No, because at the end of the day it wasn’t much money. Sure, considering how my situation changed since I could say I made the wrong decision, but that money was basically just a couple drinks or coffees somewhere.

    I’m not sayign that your decision is wrong, that is just my own view of things for myself.

    As an aside, I’m really bored of leaving long comments, I’m so used to Twitter and everything being short! I wish there was a way to force blog comments to be of a certain length only!

  5. ashok says:

    very funny

    You should go through terms and conditions before taking action.Anyways it is just 15$/yr. Just pay that amount and you are all set.

  6. Noone would love it more than me if you file a dispute claim and retract your money. πŸ™‚ Though I regret you have to go through it.

    And dear girl, its your choice to post tweets or long posts on your blog. Blog when you feel like it. πŸ™‚

    And I did I hear you saying you are bored of blogging community here? ;x

  7. did you check their TOS ? as far as I know, companies keep domain names on “auto renew” so that no one will loose their domain names even if they forget to renew it … if you forget to renew, it will go to redemption period, where you will have to pay hundreds of $$ to renew it. But, two conditions.

    1. It should be on their tos of aup, that they will keep the “auto renew” feature on

    2. You should get an email, before its being renewed, and card being charged.

  8. Everyone, thanks for your viewpoints. I’m so used to Tumblr and Twitter that writing at WordPress sometimes seems to be a chore. I think I enjoy writing here only when I feel like expressing myself vividly. Else, Tumblr/Twitter suffices my purpose.

    Cat- I’ll always use domain mapping. It gives me a feeling of ‘owning’ this blog to some extent. Regarding CSS upgrade, $15 is not expensive at all. I was hoping to make my own stylesheets and modify the existing ones. But I haven’t been able to find the time to do so. As a result, I ended up using some 2-3 themes in the past 1 year. It is quite worth it in that it gives my blog a different feel. Dunno…now I like this new theme that I’m using. Maybe I’ll renew it.

    Ashok, Dinu- Yeah, I’m all set for sure. But I don’t believe in supporting fraudulent practices. I went back and checked- they have no option to cancel the “auto renew” option, which is completely wrong! Godaddy.com and Yahoo have this option- I can stop the auto renewal anytime. They lied to me that they sent me a notice etc. That is what is f-ing annoying.

    Poonam- Yeah well..it is my wish. that’s the reason I’m not really forcing myself to write posts here. πŸ˜‰

  9. Amen, Globat are being really awful of late. I just got an email from them informing me that they’re going to charge me for some $50 promotional program they’d ‘automatically’ signed me up for, giving me 30 days to opt out before I was billed.

  10. Ernesto says:

    Yo he sido victima de Gobat, semejantes estafadores que me cobraron la renovacion sin haberla solicitado y menos autorizado … Globat son unaa bola de ladrones. Admas el servicio es una mierda y no se le puede llamar de otra manera

Leave a Reply

