General ramblings

Music Meme: Part II

Continuing the Music Meme that I’d picked up from Lallopallo’s blog. I’d previously listed my Top Ten Indian Songs. In this post, I bring to you my Top Ten International Songs in no particular order:

#10- Come Undone by Duran Duran-

#9- Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd

#8- Coming Back to Life by Pink Floyd

I actually like ALL Pink Floyd songs and my list would be filled with only their numbers. It’s so difficult to pick out only some songs. I need to have a separate Pink Floyd list probably.

#7- I Will by The Beatles

Ditto for The Beatles…they need a separate Top Ten The Beatles list. My favorite’s Paul though. 🙂

#6- Doing That Thing You do by The Wonders

Very heavy Beatles influence…don’t you think so?

#5- Stairway to Heaven by Led Zeppelin

I’ll be doing great injustice if I don’t include at least one song by them. Holy Guru of Rock music.

#4- Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana

This song has 26 million + views on Youtube. Need I say more?

#3- The Double Life of Veronique film music by Zbigniew Preisner

Overall, I love Preisner’s music…this is just an example. If you like Western Classical, I would advise you to check out his scores for other movies made by Kieslowski. This is the link to his radio on last.fm

#2- Sweet Child of Mine by Guns n Roses

#1- Nothing Else Matters by Metallica

It doesn’t take much to understand what kind of music I listen to…mostly from the ’70s. Give me any of these bands, or give me ABBA or something similar and I’m a happy camper. 🙂

Standard

6 thoughts on “Music Meme: Part II

  1. No Enrique songs? 🙂
    Somehow, if I make such a list, it would be incomplete without atleast one of his songs. 🙂
    Nice list! I personally like “that thing you do” a lot!

  2. Reema- Yeah November Rain is an awesome song too! Definitely Top 25.

    Indyeah – Thanks for commenting 🙂

    Amit- I used to love Enrique when i was in high school…late 90s early 2000s? After that, nah!

  3. Ruhi

    Isn’t the band ‘Wonders’ (or Oneders, o-need-ers as their name is announced by someone unimpressed by that spelling) fictional? From the film titled That Thing You Do? It was a film by Tom Hanks and featured Liv Tyler as the girlfriend of the dude lead-singing this song.

    Somehow watching Axl Rose makes me wonder about his ankles and knees. He never does move them apart, does he? 🙂 Reminds me of a silly A-to-Z of GnR I once watched on a silly music channel. I think there was a reference to weak ankles which are held together by gaffer tape so they do not unravel during his performance. And then there was the anagram of Axl’s name; began with an O. Go figure.

    I have a feeling this is far from your top-10 list. Doesn’t it rather vary by hour, day and mood?

  4. Shefaly- You are right! That band was fictitious. In fact, Preisner also composed music for Kieslowski under a fictitious name. Funny! The movie was quite cool too.

    And yeah…these songs make my “evergreen” list. The actual songs I listen to vary a lot. I’m discovering songs by Susheela Raman now. You must have heard her song “The Same Song” during the closing credits of “The Namesake”. She also has her own take on “Yeh Mera Deewanapan Hai”.

Leave a Reply

